Best sling feeders..

Tony Romano

Arachnopeon
Hey guys (and gals), I have a couple of new slings, I'm new to the hobby, and was curious what the general consensus was regarding the best feeders. I have been buying banded crickets from Josh's Frogs, but I hear that Blatta Lateralis roaches are better for slings. I haven't tried this yet. I also hear some people use "pin head" crickets.

If anyone has an opinion, one way or the other, I would appreciate the input.

Regards,

Tony

Nightstalker47

Arachnoking
I feed crickets and mealworms to my slings, either chopped up pieces or ones small enough to feed live. The roaches are just as good though, maybe even better nutritionally.

Avoid flightless fruit flies, everything else is fine.

Lokee85

Arachnoknight
I use either banded crickets (yay, Josh's Frogs!) or mealworms. Always crush the head of mealworms, and if the cricket is too big, just crush or remove the head as well.

WoofSpider

Arachnosquire
Meal worm pieces have been the best for slings under 1 inch in my experience.

Live prey is not necessary when they are that small and it saves you the worry of the prey harassing the sling.

MattjediEdmonds

Arachnosquire
My slings thrive on fruit flies. A banana in the kitchen attracts them (in Florida anyway). Nutritious and they can't harm the sling.

cold blood

Staff member
My slings thrive on fruit flies. A banana in the kitchen attracts them (in Florida anyway). Nutritious and they can't harm the sling.
Not for long....they are nutritionally deficient. Not good feeders at all.

disagree if you like, but its a proven fact.

Last edited by a moderator:

MattjediEdmonds

Arachnosquire
Not for long....they are nutritionally deficient. Not good feeders at all.