Austin S.

Arachnoboards Username
Austin S.
Previous Review/Report Link
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/austin-s.89256/

Reviews summary

33
 
87%
1
 
3%
0
 
0%
1
 
3%
3
 
8%
Overall rating
4.58 star(s) 38 ratings
Quality
4.74 star(s)
Variety
4.76 star(s)
Communication
4.47 star(s)
Packaging
4.66 star(s)
Price
4.66 star(s)
Purchase Date
Aug 29
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
1.00 star(s)
Packaging
4.00 star(s)
Price
3.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Good selection
Cons
  • Little to no communication from seller
T arrived healthy no problems in shipping
Purchase Date
10/23/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
1.00 star(s)
Variety
1.00 star(s)
Communication
1.00 star(s)
Packaging
1.00 star(s)
Price
1.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
No
Unfortunately I have to fudge my purchase "Date" because it took almost 6 months to get my spiders, instead of getting my spiders I got an email telling me to more or less, well y'know, anyway.
worst deal ever
Purchase Date
September 25, 2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
1.00 star(s)
Variety
1.00 star(s)
Communication
1.00 star(s)
Packaging
1.00 star(s)
Price
1.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
No
Cons
  • took money and then nothing
placed an order with Austin @ 03arachnids.com and got an order confirmation. Here we are 17 days later and about 10 emails and he will not respond. If you can't ship what was ordered then don't take peoples money, that is screwed up. So now I sit and wait for my refund. a lot of people taking up for him saying he is really busy, well stop selling spiders if you can't offer anything better than piss poor communication and customer service.
4 members found this helpful.
Purchase Date
June 15, 2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
3.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
1.00 star(s)
Packaging
2.00 star(s)
Price
2.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
No
Pros
  • Most spiders arrived in good condition
  • Great selection of rare Ts
Cons
  • Zero communication
  • Omitted injury to T’s legs
  • packaging was incorrect
On June 15, 2020 I purchased 5 Aphonopelma from 03arachnids. Among them was a confirmed female 1.5” Aphonopelma moderatum which was priced at $120. After ordering I did not see any confirmation email so I wrote to the seller to inquire. I later realized that the confirmation email had sent and was merely in my spam inbox but the seller did not respond to my email at all. When the Ts arrived, 4 out of the 5 were in stellar condition, but the Aphonopelma moderatum was missing three legs and had lost a pedipalp during shipping. The pedipalp was in the shipping container but the three legs were not, so I know they were gone before she was shipped. I contacted the seller to ask for, at the very least, some sort of explanation about the situation, but it’s been almost a week since my purchase and I’ve received *zero* direct communication from the seller. Furthermore, the packaging for the A. moderatum was loose at the top, which may have contributed to the loss of the pedipalp. I will not be purchasing from here again.
5 members found this helpful.
Purchase Date
2019-11-27
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great selection, high quality animals, fast and careful shipping, great experience overall!
Cons
  • None
Picked up a few slings during 03arachnids.com's black friday sale and couldn't be more pleased. With the discount, they were wonderfully priced; they were shipped quickly and carefully; and the communication via the 03arachnids.com website was superb. I'd definitely buy specimens from this guy again--THANKS!
Purchase Date
2019-09-15
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
1.00 star(s)
Packaging
4.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
No
Pros
  • Fast replies generally when contacted. Healthy spiders, good packaging. 2 freebie 1/4" spiders!
Cons
  • -Missing spider, still not replaced after 2 weeks even though he said he would. -No communication without being contacted first about anything. -Package just says "Perishable, handle with care." Nothing about live animals. -No further commumication in the 14 days since he said he'd replace the missing spider.
This missing spider was a gift for my daughter's birthday that was 8 days ago now. My last email received from Scott Spears at 03Arachnids was 9/28/19, where he promised to send a Hapalopus triseriatus ‘highland’ to replace the Columbia large, as the two he had died molting (per the email).

I gave him TWO WEEKS to communicate or send the replacement before making this review. In those two weeks, I've received advertisements from the website, but nothing in regards to my order our replacement.

I have also informed PayPal, although I doubt we will be getting our $25 back since I didn't use a credit card.

If we'd received even an email regarding the delay, the review would have been MUCH better. Spiders were healthy, plus freebies! But we received nothing from him since his promise on 9/28 to send the missing spider. I'd say 2 weeks is enough time to at least communicate. I work in specialty pharmacy where we ship sensitive packages by the hundreds daily, I know businesses get busy. 2 weeks is more than enough leeway to give him time to email or even send a package.
One member found this helpful.
Purchase Date
2018-01-25
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • healthy, active spiders - well packed
Cons
  • none
Spiders were all healthy and in perfect condition. Communication was great, any questions I had were answered promptly. I was completely happy with transaction.
Purchase Date
2018-01-11
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Price, healthy animals, freebie, willing to negotiate, pick-up was smooth
Cons
  • none
Very happy with this purchase. Austin's prices were good to start with, and he also gave me a deal because I was buying multiple spiders. I preferred to drive out rather than have them shipped because of the unpredictability of the weather in this area. He had the spiders ready for me at the agreed time (including a freebie!) I would definitely recommend doing business with Austin.
Purchase Date
2017-10-04
Transaction Type
Trade
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great communication, perfect packing, Good prices, and a nice freebie.
Austin and I recently agreed to a trade. From the beginning, he was very straightforward in what he wanted and offered his slings at a very fair trade value. His communication was great and the packing was perfect. All 21 slings arrived very healthy and active. Don't hesitate to purchase anything from Austin in the future, as he knows what he is doing.
Purchase Date
2017-09-06
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Quality Communication
A pleasure to do business with, good communication and excellent packaging! My adorable Aphonopelma moderatum slings arrived snugly packaged and are now exploring their new homes. Congratulations to Austin for breeding this lovely species!
Purchase Date
2017-07-21
Transaction Type
Sale
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Communication with Austin was superb, packaging was perfect, and timing was well considered due to the weather.
Ordered a fairly expensive order from Austin last week and just arrived this morning. Packaging was flawless and you couldn't ask for better communication. Safety was clearly a concern, as consideration was taken on what day to ship to best beat the heat and a cooling pack was included in the package.

Most important thing for a dealer to have is communication, and Austin has it down.
Purchase Date
2017-02-06
Transaction Type
Trade
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Packing was top notch and the Ts were lively and healthy upon unpacking.
Cons
  • No cons!
This was my first time doing business with someone on the boards and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I'll definitely be looking to trade/buy from Austin again.
Purchase Date
2016-12-22
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Meticulous wrapping of each tarantula ensured they arrived alive and unspoiled. He also packed in a heating pad to ensure they shipped overnight comfortably during the cold season. Great job!
Cons
  • None
I'm very pleased with this purchase, as it is my first, I have no means of comparison, however, I will definitely be looking forward to purchasing more tarantulas from Austin! He takes great care and puts a lot effort into ensuring each tarantula will be shipped with their safety in mind. The prices were fair and comparable to other sellers, or better! They arrived exactly on time and he was able to provide a tracking number immediately after turning the package over to FedEx.

Thank you, again!
Purchase Date
2016-10-24
Transaction Type
Trade
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Fast shipping, great communication, and professional packaging.
Cons
  • NONE
Austin and I came to an agreed trade and everything went as smooth as possible. He did exactly what we agreed on and went above and beyond to ensure that both our specimens arrived alive and well! Mine came super fast, was healthy, and packed to ensure a safe trip. Austin is someone I will continue to work with/buy from in the future!
Purchase Date
2016-10-10
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Fast, friendly and helpful
Austin was helpful and knowledgeable. I had a zillion questiom he was very patient abou answering, even though I am sure I asked a few repeatedly. Provided the tracking numver right away and when the spiders arrived they were secure and comfortable both settled in right away, a very healthy female I. mira and healthy female A. hentzi

I would definitely buy from Austin again

Attachments

Purchase Date
2016-10-07
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Helpful Great deal Shipped with obvious care
image.jpeg
Austin sold me 2 captive bred mature female Aphonopelma hentzi and threw in a mature male to boot. He patiently answered all my noob questions with detail and a sense of humor.

Couldn't have possibly gotten things set up here without his help. They arrived overnight SOOO carefully shipped and in perfect condition. Further, he's continued to provide priceless counsel post arrival. Great seller, great resource, great guy!
Purchase Date
2016-10-06
Transaction Type
Breeding Loan
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great communication, immediate payment (shipping label)
Cons
  • None
Shipped out a MM GBB to Austin and the transaction was silky smooth.. His communication before and after the transaction has been great.. I look forward to any future projects or sales from him in the future..
Purchase Date
2016-09-22
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
I highly recommend Austin for anyone that is looking for a wonderful looking T! He stayed very professional and polite as well as kept in contact right up to and after delivery of the T. Austin truly cares about what he does and does not take any short cuts. Shipping was through FedEx overnight and the packing was one of the best I have received, you could tell he took his time with every step. I will defiantly be contacting him for more of his wonderful arachnids in the future. Great hobbyist and asset to us all.
Purchase Date
2016-09-01
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Healthy animal.
Austin is a great guy to work with. He maintains communication and ships quickly. His prices are reasonable, and I get healthy animals.
Purchase Date
2016-09-07
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Fast communication, Fast transaction. Top-notch packing. The male was in good condition upon arrival.
Cons
  • None
Everything went smooth as glass, no hold up or delays. I would definitely buy from Austin again. Don't hesitate about purchasing a T from Austin, you are in good hands an so is the tarantula.
Top