Austin S.

Arachnoboards Username
Austin S.
Previous Review/Report Link
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/austin-s.89256/

User details

Address
Oklahoma
Preferred Method of Contact
Via Conversation @ Arachnoboards
Email Address
austin@spearstravel.com
It's addicting, isn't it :)
You do not have permission to view the full content of this item. Log in or register now.

Latest reviews

Purchase Date
June 15, 2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
3.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
1.00 star(s)
Packaging
2.00 star(s)
Price
2.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
No
Pros
  • Most spiders arrived in good condition
  • Great selection of rare Ts
Cons
  • Zero communication
  • Omitted injury to T’s legs
  • packaging was incorrect
On June 15, 2020 I purchased 5 Aphonopelma from 03arachnids. Among them was a confirmed female 1.5” Aphonopelma moderatum which was priced at $120. After ordering I did not see any confirmation email so I wrote to the seller to inquire. I later realized that the confirmation email had sent and was merely in my spam inbox but the seller did not respond to my email at all. When the Ts arrived, 4 out of the 5 were in stellar condition, but the Aphonopelma moderatum was missing three legs and had lost a pedipalp during shipping. The pedipalp was in the shipping container but the three legs were not, so I know they were gone before she was shipped. I contacted the seller to ask for, at the very least, some sort of explanation about the situation, but it’s been almost a week since my purchase and I’ve received *zero* direct communication from the seller. Furthermore, the packaging for the A. moderatum was loose at the top, which may have contributed to the loss of the pedipalp. I will not be purchasing from here again.
One member found this helpful.
Purchase Date
2019-11-27
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great selection, high quality animals, fast and careful shipping, great experience overall!
Cons
  • None
Picked up a few slings during 03arachnids.com's black friday sale and couldn't be more pleased. With the discount, they were wonderfully priced; they were shipped quickly and carefully; and the communication via the 03arachnids.com website was superb. I'd definitely buy specimens from this guy again--THANKS!
Purchase Date
2019-09-15
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
1.00 star(s)
Packaging
4.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
No
Pros
  • Fast replies generally when contacted. Healthy spiders, good packaging. 2 freebie 1/4" spiders!
Cons
  • -Missing spider, still not replaced after 2 weeks even though he said he would. -No communication without being contacted first about anything. -Package just says "Perishable, handle with care." Nothing about live animals. -No further commumication in the 14 days since he said he'd replace the missing spider.
This missing spider was a gift for my daughter's birthday that was 8 days ago now. My last email received from Scott Spears at 03Arachnids was 9/28/19, where he promised to send a Hapalopus triseriatus ‘highland’ to replace the Columbia large, as the two he had died molting (per the email).

I gave him TWO WEEKS to communicate or send the replacement before making this review. In those two weeks, I've received advertisements from the website, but nothing in regards to my order our replacement.

I have also informed PayPal, although I doubt we will be getting our $25 back since I didn't use a credit card.

If we'd received even an email regarding the delay, the review would have been MUCH better. Spiders were healthy, plus freebies! But we received nothing from him since his promise on 9/28 to send the missing spider. I'd say 2 weeks is enough time to at least communicate. I work in specialty pharmacy where we ship sensitive packages by the hundreds daily, I know businesses get busy. 2 weeks is more than enough leeway to give him time to email or even send a package.
Purchase Date
2018-01-25
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • healthy, active spiders - well packed
Cons
  • none
Spiders were all healthy and in perfect condition. Communication was great, any questions I had were answered promptly. I was completely happy with transaction.
Purchase Date
2018-01-11
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Price, healthy animals, freebie, willing to negotiate, pick-up was smooth
Cons
  • none
Very happy with this purchase. Austin's prices were good to start with, and he also gave me a deal because I was buying multiple spiders. I preferred to drive out rather than have them shipped because of the unpredictability of the weather in this area. He had the spiders ready for me at the agreed time (including a freebie!) I would definitely recommend doing business with Austin.

User information

Category
User Reviews
Added by
Austin S.
Views
10,053
Reviews
35
Last update
Rating
4.80 star(s) 35 ratings
Location
OK, USA

More in User Reviews

Share this User

Top