• While everyone who posts in our classifieds must have a review item, not all dealers utilize the Arachnoboards classifieds.

    If you would like to review a dealer who does not have a review item please request that an item be created for the dealer in this thread.

Arachnoiden

Arachnoboards Username
Steve123
Website
http://arachnoiden.com/
Previous Review/Report Link
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/steve123.256171/

Reviews summary

39
 
98%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
1
 
3%
Overall rating
4.90 star(s) 40 ratings
Quality
4.90 star(s)
Variety
4.90 star(s)
Communication
4.93 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
4.98 star(s)
Excellent service: Arachnoiden
Purchase Date
6/5/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Packing was fantastic, they took extra precautions for the warmer weather
  • Spider was safely secure in the vial
  • The prices were actually fair
  • Communication was direct, easy, and fast
  • They have quite a selection compared to most, some species I haven't seen listed fairly often
Cons
  • None
Steve123, you've outdone yourself definitely a higher tier on my purchase list. I purchased a Pamphobeteus sp. "Duran" from you for a worthy price and the shipping was perfect. The sling was healthy and of accurate size as listed. Everything was simple, straightforward, and I couldn't ask for it any other way. Thank you for making my first purchase with you phenomenal and I'll be keeping an eye on your list. ;)
Unparalleled customer service sets Arachnoiden apart.
Purchase Date
04/30/21
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Wide variety of stock
  • Competitive prices
  • Excellent communication
  • Prompt shipping
  • Excellent customer service
Cons
  • None
Steven at Arachnoiden has a level of customer service second to none. I placed an order late on Friday 4/30/21. Not only did I receive a response from Steve within an hour confirming my order but on the following Sunday afternoon I got a tracking number for my shipment to go out on Monday 5/3/21. Customer service, on a weekend. It doesn't get any better. The spiders I ordered arrived packaged perfectly and they were safe and healthy as expected.
All the things I like, correct order, healthy spiders, quick shipping. I wouldn't hesitate to order from Steve and Arachnoiden again. I'm very happy and you will be too.
Excellent experience
Purchase Date
4/25/21
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Responsive
  • Healthy tarantula
This was my first time purchase of a tarantula and Steve at Arachnoiden was very responsive and helpful through the whole process. Tarantula arrived healthy . I am very happy with my experience.
Purchase Date
1/5/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Fast
Purchased a Male 1 1/4" spiderling GBB and it's gorgeous!

Attachments

AmandaPaul1
AmandaPaul1
Actually I should have said a juvenile Male GBB not a spiderling
Purchase Date
2/21/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great communication
  • Great selection
  • Great prices
Definitely one of my favorite vendors/dealers. Repeat customer. Communication is fast and friendly, and selection is amazing.
Purchase Date
1/23/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Responsive
  • Quick
  • Easy / clear communication
  • Friendly and informative
Cons
  • None
If you are looking for variety in Massachusetts / New England, look no further! My experience with Arachnoiden has been always positive, with now having 4 separate transactions I feel as though I can now provide an accurate review for the company. Two of my transactions were made at the New England Reptile Expo where I made purchases in person, not only was the customer service more inviting and as well informative than the competing buisness at the event; the prices were by a significant standard more fair market value. The health and quality of all specimens I have purchased have been great and all are still with me, some almost a year later. The other 2 of my transactions were made through the website (which has sense been revamped and has an easy to use interactive face) once again the prices unbeatable for MA and the variety, outstanding. The feature offered of meeting for in person pick up for locals is great and reliable. Being a resident of Boston pick ups in Cambridge with Ramona give ease to my transactions. No more then a 10 minute walk from central sq. so pretty convenient no matter where you are off of the MBTA system. Highly recommend checking them out, I am currently planning my fifth transaction and look forward to do more buisness with the company in the future.
Purchase Date
2020-01-03
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Best selection Great prices Awesome communication Health tarantulas Great packaging
Cons
  • NONE!!!!!
This was my second transaction with Arachnoiden in the last month. All my slings came in great shape!. I am always amazed in the selection and prices from Arachnoiden and the communication is by far one of the best! Thanks you Steve and I look forward to future transactions with you. Lazaro
Purchase Date
2019-12-13
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great Communication! Great prices! Great packaging! Incredible selection of tarantulas! Easy to use website!
Cons
  • NONE!!!!
Always a Pleasure to order with Steve. All my slings came in great shape even with the winter weather. I added some tarantulas that have been on my wishlist for a while for a great price!! Communication is fast and by far the best in the hobby!!!. I highly Recommend Arachnoiden!! You will not be disappointed. Thank you Steve!! You made a customer for life here!
Purchase Date
2019-10-11
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Unique species for sale at good prices, outstanding communication, great packaging, quick shipping and specimens arrived well fed and healthy, a well thought out freebie unique to what he thought I would enjoy adding to my collection!!!
Steve is the man! I can not recommend him enough. Everything was top notch in my purchase with Arachnoiden and I will,be back. He cares and you can tell. From verifying shipping conditions are right to making sure your tarantulas are fed before he ships to giving you a freebie that he feels you would enjoy having. He even helped me with an issue I was having on another forum without hesitation! There are not many people out there like him and you I gurantee you, you would not be disappointed if you make a purchase with Steve at Arachnoiden!
Purchase Date
2018-04-19
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great communication and quick responses Wide selection and variety of available species Top-notch packing Competetive pricing Ts all healthy upon arrival Interesting freebies - some tailored to you personally!
Cons
  • None.
I've purchased from Steve multiple times in the past, and twice in the last week alone.

Arachnoiden has a wide variety of Ts, ranging from the popular gotta-have-it species to rarely seen and unusual species. Pricing is competitive with that of other sellers, and his free shipping on orders over $200 really pushes me to hit that mark every time I shop there. Any time I've emailed him, his responses have been quick and friendly, answering any questions I had as well as doing what he can to resolve any issues ASAP.

His packing and shipping are 2nd-to-none, and my Ts always arrive alive and well, and often larger than advertised! His freebies are always a joy as well, an awesome little extra surprise every time you order - some of which are specially tailored to you - In my most recent order, I received an additional freebie vent-sexed male N. chromatus juvie to go with my female after having mentioned in passing that I'd like to try breeding down the road.

Any time there has been a problem, he has been quick to get it resolved. Once I hadn't received a tracking email for a shipment, and despite messaging him after 10pm my time (11pm his time) he replied within minutes, sending me a copy of his email for tracking. With this last order, a P. cambridgei arrived slightly smaller than I had been expecting, and discovered it was missing a leg after moving it into it's enclosure. Despite my insistence that it wasn't necessary and I was still happy with the sling, Steve went ahead and refunded me the money for the sling.

Steve and Arachnoiden are always welcome to my hard-earned cash. :)
Purchase Date
2018-03-31
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
1.00 star(s)
Variety
1.00 star(s)
Communication
2.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
4.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
No
Pros
  • None
Cons
  • Item not as advertised, poor communication, does not read his own emails, unable to return, stated he wanted to make it right but never did!! BEWARE
First,
He sent the package under the wrong name, Fedex would not release package, he refuses to give HIS phone number, left fedex facility waited couple hours for him to call fedex and change the name (missed a couple hours of work).
When I finally got home and open the package, the item was an adult Xenesthis sp Blue (5-6 "more like 6), on his web site he advertised as a 3" sub adult.
The Free tarantula he sent was an old world sling. his email clearly stated he would send a new world, so i had to go around the city trying to find a home for this sling, paid a reptile shop to take it.
He sent me an email that stated if i was not happy i could return them, in EXCELLENT condition. Who in the right mind would trust this dealer that a 400.00 T would arrive in excellent condition after sitting at fedex half the day waiting for him to get the name right on the package.
The other reviews are good because the transactions went well.
YOU CAN TELL A GOOD DEALER WHEN TRANSACTION GO WRONG HOW IT IS HANDLED.
HE NEVER RETURNED MY LAST EMAIL!!
One member found this helpful.
Purchase Date
2018-02-13
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Purchased 3 slings from this vendor last month at an expo and was able to meet up with him last night to get 2 more. Very knowledge and helpful dealer. Looking forward to more business in the future as my collection and level of involvement in the hobby grows
Purchase Date
2018-01-25
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Free shipping over $200, freebies, excellent communication
Cons
  • None
I have ordered from online vendors in the past but will likely use Arachnoiden exclusively in the future. Excellent selection, pricing, and service. Spiders arrived healthy and the vendor clearly cares about the well-being of his animals as he checks the weather report multiple times and packages and ships accordingly. If you order over $200 and get the free shipping this is the most economical online vendor. Also the freebies were very nice and high quality. To summarize, this is as good as it gets!
Purchase Date
2018-01-28
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Very friendly. Great choice of species. Freebies. Nuff said.
Cons
  • None
I pre-ordered two slings from Steve so I could pick them up at the reptile expo near me. Paying was super easy through Paypal and he made sure my specific slings (C. Darlingi and B. Albo) were set aside for me. He was even kind enough to throw in a freebie N. Tripepii sling! Couldn't be happier and will do business with Steve again.
Purchase Date
2017-10-18
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Yes, he is very pro.
Cons
  • * OBVIOUSLY NONE.
* FREE Overnight shipping for orders $200.00 and up. My order just happened to be a little over 200, but that saved me $40.00 on shipping!
* NO PAYPAL FEES - Steve doesn't charge paypal fees whatsoever. Only BIG companies practice this buyer-oriented perk.
* No packaging fees - Steve handles all associated cost. HOW EPIC!?
* Spiders arrived healthy (so healthy they began eating immediately after re-housing).
* Top notch communication! He provides options to avoid inconveniences e.g. at work, etc.
* Very nice packaging! Like a gift!
* FREEBIES included!
* Friendly personality
* REASONABLE Prices for the stingy keepers.
* Great selection of spiders available online.
* User-friendly website. IT IS REALLY EASY TO NAVIGATE.
Purchase Date
2017-06-01
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Fantastic shipping, wonderful attention to detail, friendly service, best variety of rare spiders
I have made three purchases from Steve at arachnoiden.com so far, and I'm certain this third one won't be the last. There's so much positive about buying from him and dealing with him that it's hard to know where to start. A lot of my feelings have been expressed by others (great selection of rare spiders, great communication, some of the best packing I've seen, very generous with freebies, reasonably priced, etc). Something I'd like to add is that after some email conversations with Steve, I feel confident that he's a hobbyist at heart, and while I'm sure his sales help him and his family out financially, I'm fairly certain that he's NOT in it for the money. The guy genuinely loves tarantulas, and that alone makes me want to buy from him above most other dealers. I suppose he's relatively new to the dealer scene, but I'd rank him up there with the likes of Swift's and Net-Bug. He's a true professional, and an asset to the scene. I nearly forgot to mention that he is more than willing to dispense valuable husbandry information. I was having issues with some tricky spiderlings that my wife added to my list of big itchy South American terrestrials, and Steve went above and beyond in helping us out with them. A+ job in every respect!
Purchase Date
2017-05-29
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Fast Shipping Fast Communication Very helpful Great packaging
Cons
  • NONE
I ordered a 3'' Female Psalmopoeus Irminia on Memorial Day this year. I was emailed that very same night and my package was shipped the NEXT DAY. I was genuinely shocked at how fast my order was processed and shipped being that it was a holiday when I ordered! Packaging was perfect. My girl arrived happy and healthy despite the shipping company experiencing mechanical issues causing an extra day in shipping(Not Dealers Fault). All in all 5/5 stars for everything, and I will be back for future orders.
Purchase Date
2017-04-05
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Huge selection of males, females and slings of rare/uncommon species. Good prices w/o the sliding scales discount, excellent with. (it pretty much guarantees every time I order i'll be dropping at least 300) Excellent communication, complemented being really knowledgeable. Another thing that actually attracted me: website design. Extremely pleasant to browse and navigate, great organization. Clean design, props to whoever made it.
I ordered for the first time in december, dead of winter. Although I live in northern California, where the weather's almost always going to be safe to ship, he still took the time to check local weather conditions to make sure. Everything I ordered arrived perfectly packed and safe. Definitely has the best packaging out of everywhere I ordered from, as well as from unboxing videos I've seen. The vials and plastic boxes were packed with bubble wrapped insulating foil sides, with plenty of shredded packing paper. Spiders were packed in a way that they were extremely to rehouse as well. Communication was excellent throughout as well.

Ordered a 2nd time in April, and needless to say the quality is consistent. Also I don't mention free stuff for reviews I write usually b/c it sets up expectations for them, but seems like everyone I've read/watched order from this place has gotten one so.. yea 100% chance i'll be ordering a third time in the future. I've already almost doubled my collection size just exclusively from Arachnoiden.
Purchase Date
2017-03-23
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Literally the nicest person I've ever dealt with online not only was he kind generous and professional but he also took great care in his packaging I was very impressed overall and would be buying plenty from him in the near future
Contacted Steve a while back about the listing he had X Immanis spec blue Female I told him I was interested but would he be willing to trade immediately he knocked the price down then after it took me what seemed like forever to get around to purchasing her we negotiated a deal but when I opened my package from him I was pleasantly surprised by not one but multiple little surprises added on God has a select few that his light shines through and Steve is one of them ! Thanks Steve :)
Purchase Date
2017-03-22
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • The absolute best customer interaction. Fair pricing. Broad range of Tarantulas available. Great packaging. Basically everything you'd hope for in a dealer.
My first order, Steve gave me a heads up on when he was dropping the tarantula off, and he sent a package tracker as well. His part of the country is nearly the opposite of mine, his being around 30-40F and mine being 80-95F at the time caused some issues.

The Issue:
The tarantula has to fly from MA to Phoenix, AZ and then be driven to my city, which is 200 miles away. That drive in the back of a truck is HOT.

Arrival:
The tarantula arrived on time, and in excellent packaging. When I opened the package, it was very warm inside (it was low-mid 80s outside). When I opened the bottle and unrolled the tarantula into her enclosure, she was largely unresponsive for a while but slightly recovered and made her way onto the moss. She did not eat, web, or hardly move after this. I figured she was just getting adjusted.
She passed away about four days later.
I E-mailed Steve with the terrible news just to let him know, and he actually offered me a replacement or a refund on her as we both considered the death to be caused by the high temperature. I couldn't believe it.

Arrival (cont)
I ordered another of the same sex and species, as well as a second tarantula. Steve took the time and effort to make sure the weather on both ends was nice, as well as offering the option for me to meet the truck half way at a post office.
I took the offer, and ended up driving about 100 miles to that location, which effectively halved the time the tarantulas needed to spend in the heat. Again, the packaging was phenomenal.

End Product:
Two happy tarantulas and a very happy customer.

Comments:
Steve and I had continuous E-mail contact throughout the whole ordeal.
Steve is a pleasure to talk to, helpful, and considerate.
He is clearly a professional and cares very much about the tarantulas and his customers.
If I ever look for more tarantulas, he's the one I'll order from.
Top