So I made an application...

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
No I don't have the old phone. When they gave me a replacement, I had to send it back to ATT.

Currently I have the Galaxy s4 and I'm running kit kat on it.

The Old phone was also a Galaxy s4, but the version of android was the one that came out before kit kat. I think it was called Jelly Bean
That's weird, I'm also using galaxy s4 with the latest android and doesn't have the problem you're experiencing.
Are the photos taken from your s4 or are they from an SLR with really high resolution? Can you also try to resize the images before importing them to the app?

I'm still trying to learn the dropbox api so that app can sync user data, it may take sometime though.
 

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Ok, I suspect the issue is due to the limited memory allowance that android gives to an application. Meaning, if android gives 30MB memory (sample only) and you have a 3000x3000 resolution image, the memory used will be 34MB (3000x3000x4, I think this is how it is computed) and will cause the app to crash due to not enough memory. :bruised::bruised::bruised:
I was able to recreate the app crash by removing the re-size function temporarily and importing a 4128x3096 picture.

So I've made some changes in the way the app saves the T photo.
Previously, the app uses the android suggested re-size function, but the images are still a bit bigger than what is actually needed, so I had to make my own re-size function. :eek:oh:
It will re-size the resolution just enough to fit the device's screen, this way the app saves on device disk usage and minimize memory limit issues since android has a low memory allowance per application.
Sample:
Picture is 3000x3000 and the device resolution is 1080x1920.
Using the previous function, the output resolution is around 1500x1500 which is still large for the device's width.
Using the new function, the resolution will just be around 1180x1180, I think, which still fits the device's screen.
The difference may not be much from the example, but imagine you have 10, 20 or 80 images, that will be a big difference in storage space.

I hope it make sense lol
:o_O::eek:oh::bruised:
 
Last edited:

johandenver

Arachnopeon
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
0
Would it be possible to add some sort of filter that lets me manage different groups of tarantulas?

I have ~200 tarantulas and I have put them in different groups so I do feeding and maintenance for all slings one day, dwarfs another day, adult spiders the third day etc.
When I do maintenance I always have the app at hand so I can update molts and other stuff but with ~200 T's it's a lot of scrolling.
Therefor I'd very much like the possibilty to group my T's in different lists.
 

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Hi Johandenver, the latest version should allow you to filter by 'life stage' (sling, juvie, etc), also by sex.
I'll try to think of a way to add some sort of grouping (customized/user created) or something were you can assign a T to.
 

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Hi Guys!
Been working on some updates including trying to fix the image/photo import crash. :bruised:
Here's the list of updates, I'm still testing them to at least minimize bugs/errors when I release it, hopefully on Monday.
1. Import photo, as explained from the previous posts.
2. Crash prevention fix on a bug reported by Samsung found on one of their test devices when using the option 'Take photo by Camera' to change T pic.
3. Add an auto-complete 'T group' field (under country field) to add/edit T info similar to 'received from' and 'common name'. The added group can then be used to search/filter the T list.
4. Add an option to bulk update/delete T groups.
5. Add 'About Me' (like a user's profile page) via 'About' menu click, you can set a 'profile' photo which you can also assign as the loading image (replacing the big tarantula icon) when you start the app. (beta)

If you have other suggestions or bug reports, please let me know and hopefully I can add/fix them before Monday.
 

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Version 2.0.5 is now available for download!
Updates and Fixes:
» Prevent 'force close' on some devices on T Pic change via 'Take photo by Camera'
» Optimized T image import to handle very large images to limit memory usage (beta)
» Add user profile ('About Me') via 'About' menu option from Ts list, you can set a 'profile' photo which you can also assign as the loading image (replacing the big tarantula icon) when you start the app. (beta)
» Add T Group field to Add/Edit T list
» Add T Group to T search
» Add sort by T Group
» Option to bulk update/delete T Groups, via 'More' menu option from Ts list
» UI adjustments
» Bug fixes
Please download it from http://tarantulas.p3kb.com/
Thanks!

Here's how the about me looks like, and how the you custom picture would look if set it as loading image.


 
Last edited:

johandenver

Arachnopeon
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
0
My app just crashed my database. When I start the app I just get the message "loading" and then "has been stopped".
Fortunately I made a backup earlier today, how do I restore the backup?

Edit:
Never mind, I figured it out :)
Just rename the current folder and copy the one under MyTarantulas.

---------- Post added 05-05-2014 at 07:34 PM ----------

I get a lot of errors when adding T's to groups.

2.
android.database.cursorWindowAllocationException: Cursor allocation window of 2048 kb failed.
# Open cursors =752 (# of cursors opened by this proc=752)
Please contact the developer
 
Last edited:

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Hi johan, I suggest that you reinstall the app then restore your backup from the app's restore option.
I'll check the error message that you posted, not sure what it means.
Thanks!
 

Kat Graves

Arachnopeon
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
46
Hi Tisha. First of all I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for all the work you put into it. I'm kind of obsessive about, .....well everything, and this help so much in keeping track of my Ts. The only issue I have noticed is that when I go to change my picture, I have to first remove the existing one, then I can choose a new pic to input. Not a big deal, but just thought I would mention it. I think it would be great if you could store multiple pics for each T, like a gallery for each one, because I take new pics and update every time they molt. That way I, and others, could look back on how they matured.
I was reading the forum earlier, and was wondering if you have gotten any closer to having a web app so I could use my computer to input and store all my data. It would be helpful for those of us who have larger collections.

Once again, I bow down to your awesomeness for developing this app, as well as fixing all the bugs and listening to user input. !!!!!!
 

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Thanks! I'm glad that you like the app, it wouldn't have improved without everyones help and inputs.
I still don't have the time to start on a web version though due to work schedules/projects.
With regards to the T pic, starting version 1.2, I think, you should he able to view a T's pic gallery.
It should be accessible when you click on the T's pic, you should see the options 'view', 'change', 'remove' and 'view gallery'.
Can you post the tarantula app version, android device and android version, I'll try to check if some features doesn't work on your device.
 

gizmosdeath

Arachnopeon
Joined
Mar 18, 2013
Messages
20
I'm not sure why the app is doing this all of a sudden, but every time I try to set a photo from my phones gallery for any of my T's it says that it's "unable to retrieve selected picture." Never had this problem before and I still have photos on some of my first T's added in the app.
 

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Hi gizmosdeath, PM sent, also, can you reply (here or via pm) your device's model and android version? Thanks!
 

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Thanks to johandenver and gizmosdeath for working with me on trying to fix a couple of big bugs! ;)

If you experience other bugs/errors on the app, please let me know so I can try and fix them. I can't fix something that I didn't know exists. :)

Version 2.01.05 is now available for download!
Updates and Fixes:
» Import picture bug fix for some devices running Android 4.4
» Add box icon over T list pic if T is on breeding loan, same position as egg sac icon
» Changed 'T is in pre-molt' to just 'Pre-molt' in Add/Edit T
» Change 'Molt Status' to 'Molt Cycle Status' in T search
» Fix display current day of the month for add sperm web, mating and egg sac drop dates
» Remove 'Switched to ...'s page' message when switching T info via swipe gesture or onscreen direction arrows
» Stability improvements to database handlers
» Code optimization/cleanup
» UI adjustments
» Bug fixes
Please download it from http://tarantulas.p3kb.com/
Thanks!
 

Kat Graves

Arachnopeon
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
46
Hi Tisha. I have something driving me crazy. When I go to my Ts to feel list and click ignore feeder it puts a feed date on the T. What I would love is a way to tell the app that I do not want to feed a specific T. It would be even better if I could select multiple Ts from that list for a specific action. Thanks again!!
 

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Hi Kat, yeah I think I'll just remove the 'Ignore Feeder' and simply replace it with a 'Cancel' button, since 'Feed' and 'Ignore Feeder' buttons will do the same action if no feeder is entered. :laugh:
I'll look into adding a multi-select option to 'Ts to Feed' popup list. I'm also having problem like when only 4 out of 5 ate, I had to do the feeding one by one so the 1 that did not eat doesn't get updated. :eek:oh:
 

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Version 2.01.11 is now available for download!
Updates and Fixes:
» Add multi-select option to Ts List (beta, available for Android 2.3 and up), turn on/ff via the icon to the left of search T
» Updates for 'days between' calculator
» Loading page updates
» Add multi-select option to 'Ts to Feed' list (beta)
» Replaced 'Ignore Feeder' with 'Cancel' to feeding popup window
» Fix some popup window heights when showing a very long list of items
» UI adjustments
» Bug fixes
Please download it from http://tarantulas.p3kb.com/
Thanks!
 

tisha

Arachnopeon
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
29
Hi skippydude, unfortunately no. I was planning on making a web-based version but don't have time to start on it due to office projects.
 
Top