A. sp Ecuador and A. purpurea

Andeee

Arachnopeon
It is my first time keeping an avic and I bought avic ecuador. Do avic Ecuador and purpurea is the same? I'm searching some info about A. Ecuador but A. Purpurea is always showing

moricollins

Arachno search engine
Old Timer
It is my first time keeping an avic and I bought avic ecuador. Do avic Ecuador and purpurea is the same? I'm searching some info about A. Ecuador but A. Purpurea is always showing
If you're asking if they are the same species, then the answer is "not necessarily / not likely".

Avicularia sp "Ecuador" is an undescribed species from Ecuador, while Avicularia purpurea is a described species from Ecuador, may be the same thing , but likely aren't. If the collector/breeder/etc. could match them to the characteristics of Avicularia purpurea then they would be selling them under that species name.

DaveM

ArachnoOneCanReach
Old Timer
Avicularia sp. "Ecuador" has recently been considered by hobbiests as a local form of A. purpurea. Whether they are different species, is a question for scientists, and partly just a matter of semantics/convenience/opinion.
Many organisms exist covering a broad spectrum of morphologies, and how we should divide them into species is a matter of [human] opinion. The only 'official' answer is what the experts currently say in the most recent scientific publications.

Vanessa

Grammostola Groupie
This conversation has been had before, I'm pretty sure. I might be wrong, but Avicularia purpurea was described from individuals found in the northern region of Ecuador, while this new, undescribed, Avicularia sp. Ecuador is from the south. I think I have even seen it described as Avicularia sp. South Ecuador.
That would mean that they could very well be two different locales of the same species, although it should not be assumed that they are. Avicularia is one of the most ubiquitous tarantula genera in the world with countless locales of the same species.