Avicularia morphotypes

Venom1080

Arachnoemperor
I made my thread about Avicularia care before the revision was published and so didn't include any of the new taxonomic updates. Here they are. almost two years later. I apologize if someone has already done this, but just recently it seems like some members could use some help on the subject. I'm no expert, and all of this is gathered on the authority of others, but so are most things. Deal with it.

Avicularia avicularia.

This is the most confusing one. This is one species that was split into six different morphotypes. All of which were separate species or at least seperated by localities before the revision.

I am NOT breaking down how to id everything as quite frankly, it's very difficult in alot of cases. There's a few people who seem to never have difficulty. CEC being one of them.

The original A avic is M1. This is the most common Avicularia in the trade and if you buy a random from a pet store, it's either this or M6 (metallica, specifically the blue form) 99% of the time. These are both from Guyana and are very easy to import. M1 is also sold as "sp blue velvet".

Morphotype 2 is braunshauseni. These are quite large and have alot of dense red hair on leg pair iv.

Morphotype 3 is possibly geroldi. This is a difficult one. These revisions aren't made for hobbyists but scientists, descriptions can be difficult. There may be a undescribed blue Avicularia I'm forgetting that the hobby considers to be here.

Morphotype 4 is azureklassi and sp Tambopota.

Morphotype 5 is again, possibly geroldi. And also velutina.

Morphotype 6 is the beloved metallica. There are two main localities here. The "green" Kwitara river variant, and the bluer variant from Guyana. Believe there is a third "metallica ceyanne" that is also here.

One species down.. maybe a couple localities missing, and I apologize for that. But I think this is a good starting point.