Hello there, why not take a few seconds to register on our forums and become part of the community? Just click here.

Pinchers & Pokies Exotics, LLC

Rating:
4.86957/5,
Arachnoboards Username:
ErkW
Website:
http://www.PinchersandPokies.com
Previous Review/Report Link:
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/erkw.279647/
  1. Aranea8313

    Aranea8313 Arachnopeon

    Aranea8313
    5/5,
    "Great First Experience!"
    Purchase Date:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - - Huge variety of arachnids
    - Reasonable prices
    - Great communication
    - Reasonable shipping policy
    - The t. arrived healthy and packaging was super convenient
    Cons - - Nope, none!
    Purchased a P. murinus sling from Pokies & Pinchers online last week. I've been looking for an orange or red color form P. murinus for ages and Pokies was (as of last week anyway) the only one carrying them.

    All-around it was an excellent experience and ended with my new sling arriving last night in good form. A huge plus for this experience over what I've come to expect is that when they packaged my sling, they put a paper towel cap on the inside of both the top and bottom ends of the vial the sling shipped in, allowing me to remove the bottom cap and nudge the sling out of the paper towel wrapping from the back end. So much better than unwrapping the entire thing and hoping and praying the sling would run in the right direction! You guys rock!
    ErkW likes this.
  2. disentomb

    disentomb c u r s e d Arachnosupporter

    disentomb
    5/5,
    "Remarkable specimen and service!"
    Purchase Date:
    Aug 13, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Purchased a Ephebopus murinus and the specimen arrived quickly and safely, and is honestly one of the most beautiful spiders in my entire collection. I'm already looking forward to doing business with them again!
  3. Juan Zapata

    Juan Zapata Arachnopeon

    Juan Zapata
    5/5,
    "repticon purchase"
    Purchase Date:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - great variety, great customer service, good prices.
    Cons - none
    Overall you can tell they're great people from the way they treat their customers and critters. Never pushy to sell, patient with all questions; and I had a lot of them! And the way they kept their critters you can tell they're there just not to sell but also care for them.
    Price were pretty standard when it came to rare species, and actually lower than most for common species.
    ErkW likes this.
  4. VisceraEquinox
    5/5,
    "Excellent experience, amazing slings"
    Purchase Date:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - -excellent communication
    -great customer service
    -knowledgeable
    -reasonable pricing
    -remarkable Ts
    Cons - None
    I am pretty local to where they are located, so I was able to meet in person to collect the slings I purchased. Naturally I was excited, and the slings are beautiful. It has only been a night since I've had them, and they are responsive, active, and have already eaten. I will 100% be ordering from them again, and also hope to see them at some of the repticons in the area, which I was given some information about when I met up. (Side note: Pretty cool as there are several and each one has different regulations on which animals they have.) It is very clear that they care about their critters and their customer service, and also have more than reasonable pricing for their critters too. Five stars all across the board.
    ErkW likes this.
  5. Kohakusueda
    2/5,
    "Wanted to Love This Pla e"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    3/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    2/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    4/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    No
    Pros - Two of the three spiders arrived okay
    Cons - Insisted on sending package to a hub even though I wanted it shipped to my house.

    Addressed the pack to the wrong person AND sent it to a hub that doesn’t allow pick ups making it a huge ordeal to pick up package.

    One of the spiders arrived doa and they told me to try giving it water.

    Refuses to admit fault for any of this.
    This whole experience sucked. First they kept insisting that the animals were shipped to a hub so finally after not getting through I gave in. They never bothered telling me which hub so I had to call fedex who had to hunt down the package. Not only was the package addressed to some other person, but the hub did not allow for pick up. I had to leave work early to be allowed to pick up my package (fedex gave me an hour) and it was an ordeal due to it being address to someone else. When I told them (the seller) they failed to take responsibility and said they hub DID allow pick up which again the employees there repeated many times I wasn’t supposed to be there. To top it all off when one of the spiders arrived doa they told me to try giving it water. The spider was on its back and hasn’t moved all day... The only reason I’m giving them two stars is because the two larger spiders arrived alive. Never again.
    1. ErkW
      It's a shame that this review was posted before the situation was resolved earlier this morning.
      First of all, the customer paid for 2nd Day Air shipping, which does NOT include Live Arrival Guarantee. Secondly, the temperature in Pennsylvania is quite cold right now, with lows of 26, 24, 37 & 39 each day this week. Therefore, for the health and well-being of the arachnids, we suggested she have the order picked up at a FedEx Ship Center. According to BOTH FedEx.com AND our shipping company, Reptiles Express, the facility where we shipped the order IS open to the public.
      In this case, a FedEx employee mistakenly signed for the order, showing that it had been picked up. It is my opinion that the customer was told that she had to come get the box within an hour, because the box was (correctly) marked "Live Animal", AND the FedEx employee signed for it. Therefore, I think FedEx just wanted the box out of their Ship Center ASAP.
      Another point is that the customer was given a list of the FedEx Ship Centers in her area in the very first email correspondence we had. Her reply was to send it to the center suggested. She also continued to push to have the order shipped to her house, but we refused to ship there, due to the low temperatures. When she did agree to ship it to the FedEx Ship Center, we managed to ship her order that same day.
      When she told us that her 1/2" Brachypelma hamorii was unresponsive, yes, we told her to make sure that the mouth parts were placed in a drop of water. Doing so will often re-hydrate the arachnids and it will bounce back accordingly. Any company that ships a lot of tarantulas will tell you the same thing.
      Finally, we admitted that yes, we mistakenly put the wrong name on the box. I'm human, and I do occasionally make mistakes. I specifically told this customer last night that I was working with FedEx to have her shipping charges refunded, and that I would keep her posted, and asked her to give us an update on the unresponsive sling.
      Earlier today, I did hear back from FedEx, and they refunded the shipping charge. Therefore, I refunded the shipping charge to this customer. Against my better judgement, I also refunded the cost of the tarantula. Unfortunately, I issued the refund before I saw this review.
      Normally we would NOT want it publicized that we issued a credit for an arachnid that arrived DOA on an order where 2nd Day Air was used instead of Priority Overnight. The concern is that word would get out, and we'd get a ton of orders where customer's would use 2nd Day Air and then lie and report DOA's so that they get free tarantulas. I am NOT saying that happened in this case. Rather, I'm trying to explain why we don't want it publicized if and when we make the business decision to offer a refund when the Terms and Conditions of our Live Arrival Policy are not met.
      At no point did we refuse "to take responsibility". In fact, we specifically told this customer that we were working on it. Here is a direct quote from the email I sent her:

      "I'm in the process of working with my shipping company to see if we can have FedEx refund these shipping charges. In other words, this is not a closed issue, and I am trying to address some things.
      Please let us know how the Red Knee is doing later this evening. Brachy's are usually very hardy, and do well with shipping, so I'd be surprised if it doesn't bounce back."

      Again, it's a shame that this review was posted before the situation was resolved. We really do pride ourselves on our customer service, and we strive to "do right" by our customers.

      Thank you,
      Erik (& Amanda)
      Pinchers & Pokies Exotics.
  6. louaroque

    louaroque Arachnopeon

    USA
    louaroque
    5/5,
    "Wonderful first time experience..."
    Purchase Date:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Absolutely everything. From initial communication, to prompt shipping, packaging and quality.
    Cons - None
    Erik and Amanda take great pride in what they do and it shows. I will definitely make them my go to from here on out. Thanks again.
    ErkW likes this.
  7. Caprica19
    5/5,
    "Very Happy!"
    Purchase Date:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Answered my emails kindly and quickly
    Good prices
    Held for Pickup
    Good packaging
    Use cold/heat packs
    Healthy tarantulas
    Cons - N/A
    I was really excited to find a place selling A. chalcodes at a great size and price, and I was completely set once I saw they also had decent-sized slings of C. versicolor. I messaged them and got a reply the next day. We arranged to have the package held for pickup, which is really necessary for me because of my work schedule. I was able to pick them up as soon as FedEx opened. The tarantulas were well-packaged and healthy, immediately exploring their new homes.

    I would definitely buy from here again, and I've already recommended them to other invert keepers. :)
    ErkW likes this.
  8. Lekage
    5/5,
    "Great dealer"
    Purchase Date:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Had what I was looking for at the right price.
    Cons - None
    Had what I was looking for for my son's bday.
    I perused a lot of sites looking for a T off his list, and a scorpion. They happened to have both at good prices. The Obt came as only a crazy t can, and the scorp was very well fed and takin care of
    ErkW likes this.
  9. Joseph T

    Joseph T Arachnopeon

    Joseph T
    5/5,
    "Pinchers and Pokies Exotics, LLC Review"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    4/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Amazing customer service
    They know the Latin names for their scorpions
    They responded to all my emails and did so real fast.
    Scorpions I got are healthy no missing legs or feet I've seen some people from different vendors get scorpions with missing feet.
    Great packaging (from repticon) they even gave them a hide.
    Cons - I have none!
    Amazing customer service I bought a asian forest (heterometrus spinnefer) scorpion that was out of stock so they gave me 2 of the Asian forest scorpions they did have in stock (heterometrus Longinimus) I am happy with the way they handle situations like this especially since I was at repticon and their is people all over the place asking questions.

    They new what the Latin names of their scorpions were Wich i appreciate I went to another breeder and they didn't know what scorpion they had. When I asked he said " O please don't make me give you the Latin name , don't make me lie to you" I am happy that Pinchers and pokies know what they have.

    Most of the scorpions being sold were in a dish with eco earth only ,but pinchers and pokies had a hide for them, The extra care even when selling them is great to see.

    They gave me tips on feeding and care in general I appreciate it especially as I am new to caring for scorpions. They responded to all my email quickly and they would ask me questions to give me a better answer I like the extra effort they put in giving you the best answer it shows they do care.

    The next time I get an arachnid I will buy it from pinchers pokies.
    ErkW and Ungoliant like this.
  10. Sir Aculeus

    Sir Aculeus Arachnopeon

    NY
    Sir Aculeus
    5/5,
    "This dealer rules all!"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - * Fast and reliable communications.
    * Great selection of stuff.
    * Perfect prep and packing for shipping (the best packing I've seen yet).
    * Super nice people. They appreciate their customers and the animals they offer.
    * Clean and simple website.
    Cons - Bernie Madoff, Frank Abagnale Jr.,...oops... Um.... No cons what so ever. Other dealers/sellers should model themselves after Pinchers and Pokies. Must I say more?
    Found this dealer here on Arachnoboards... Certain species of scorpions aren't easy to aquire lately and they had a gorgeous species I've never owned. So I placed my order and scooped up the last four parabuthus schlechteri they had. The sellers are friendly, super nice people that seem to be more than happy to please their customers. It's obvious they love the hobby, the animals and appreciate being able to spread the love of the these animals. They have a great selection. My transaction went as smooth as silk. Thanks again!!!!! You will hear from me again!
    ErkW likes this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.