Celestus

Arachnoboards Username
Celestus

Reviews summary

10
 
83%
1
 
8%
0
 
0%
1
 
8%
0
 
0%
Overall rating
4.67 star(s) 12 ratings
Quality
4.58 star(s)
Variety
4.58 star(s)
Communication
4.92 star(s)
Packaging
4.58 star(s)
Price
4.83 star(s)
Good Enough [read]
Purchase Date
5/3/21
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
4.00 star(s)
Variety
4.00 star(s)
Communication
4.00 star(s)
Packaging
4.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
No
Pros
  • Good packing
  • Reasonable price
  • Communicates
Cons
  • USPS
  • Shipped not labeled as live animals
I will start off this by saying that all of my tarantulas arrived safely and are looking good after a bit of a drink. An adult female did have a rather small abdomen out of the bunch, but nothing a few roaches won’t fix.

I will also say that this seller is very clear in their terms that they do ship through USPS, which I had not realized til I was paying for them (my fault). Ordinarily, I dislike anything being shipped through a system that doesn’t allow said species such as tarantulas, but for this one time I decided to go with it. The seller DID offer to ship through FedEx if I were to provide a label, but I am unsure of how to do such so for the one time purchase, I decided against it.

Of course, being shipped through USPS means that they are not labeled as live animals and though overnight shipping speeds up the process— a lot can still happen to a package and the tarantulas could have been harmed (package gets caught on a belt, thrown, stored in a high/low temp, etc).

For these reasons, I will probably not buy from this person again til FedEx is their primary shipping method with properly labeled boxes, but it was a decent price and they did arrive safely, hence the title.

Attachments

Last edited:
Nice beetles
Purchase Date
04/28/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • shipped the order really quickly
  • quality animals
  • freebies
  • communication
Cons
  • none!
Celestus shipped my order the day I paid for it! They also included many freebies, and everything arrived neatly packaged. I would definitely order from them again.
Purchase Date
4/23/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
4.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
4.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Excellent communication
  • Animals were very well packaged
Cons
  • None
Animals were in great shape and packaged well. Seller was very responsive to questions and quick to reply. 11/10 would purchase from again.
Purchase Date
4/17/21
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great prices
Cons
  • None
Bought 6 centipedes. Good shipping good prices.

Pictures are 2 centipedes in thier enclosures right after unboxing

Attachments

Great Seller (Androctonus Amoreuxi / Androctonus Australis (Tunisian))
Purchase Date
04/02/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
4.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Cheap prices
  • Variety of Scorpions
  • Fast communication
The scorpions both arrived in good shape. Amoreuxi took a week to settle in and finally begin to eat. He is hardy and only enjoys crickets and does not like variety in his diet haha. The Australis and Amoreuxi are both very shy eaters which is unfortunate but understandable since my 3 other Australis are also shy. Overall I would do business again this seller is a great seller, but I'm only going for the venomous scorps because that is all I keep lol. Don't hesitate to buy from Celestus they will provide pics, more info, and respond asap.
One member found this helpful.
A Great Opportunity For My Collection
Purchase Date
4/7/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
4.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Excellent communication, good prices, nice inventory, professional
Cons
  • Packaged with substrate (against regulation)
I was extremely excited when I saw Celestus post Paeromopus c.f. angusticeps as it is a species I've wanted for a long time. Sat on my hands a while for the price to go down, and when it did I jumped. Sadly only three left, but better three than none! Communication was great and despite a one day postal delay all three arrived alive and well, some of the most gorgeous millipedes I've seen. Was hoping for the yellow\orange banded locality, but the blackish silver ones I received are just as pretty, with their body structure reminding me of Dendrostreptus macracanthus. The only cons to the purchase were the price of shipping and the millipedes being packaged in substrate (a kind gesture which I appreciate, but one nevertheless in violation of shipping regulation.) Still all in all a great transaction, and I would happily purchase from Celestus again.
Disappointing Experience
Purchase Date
04/02/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
1.00 star(s)
Variety
3.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
3.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
No
Pros
  • Lower Cost animals
  • Cheaper shipping options
  • Good communication
Cons
  • Poor quality animals
I don't really know what to think. I ordered 2x Androctonus australis on 2-day shipping. They shipped on Monday and I received them Tuesday morning, which is considerably quick for 2-day. Both scorpions came in extremely lethargic and looked like they were on the brink of death. They both died within an hour of arrival. I notified the seller and included videos, to which they replied that something must've happened during shipping, which I agreed with as it is always a risk. They couldn't refund me the animal because LAG wasn't covered under 2-day shipping (understandable) but they were willing to ship out a replacement free of charge, which I was impressed by. The next day when I received it however; this scorpion was in the same condition as the other two and died that same night.

I will include a picture and a video of the scorpions to show how they were on arrival. I contacted a local invert breeder in my area and showed him images of the scorpions, and he commented that it looked like the (replacement) scorpion had mycosis based on the white blotches on its tail. I cannot confirm this to be true so I am not holding that to the seller; I just thought it was something to include, a more informed individual can make that observation with the attached picture on this post.

Overall, the seller had great communication the entire time, and went out on a limb for me initially with the replacement they didn't have to give but did anyways. But I do not think that it is a coincidence all 3 died under the same circumstances when I've been receiving other orders with completely healthy animals. All I can say is be careful who you purchase from. Here is the initial video I sent the seller when the two scorpions came in, with details censored for privacy: https://streamable.com/11hvuz Below is also a photo of the third one (replacement) shortly before death, that someone claimed had mycosis (again, I can't confirm this so it may not be true)
PXL_20210408_013647972.PORTRAIT.jpg
2 members found this helpful.
Last edited:
Celestus
Celestus
You decided to cut costs by choosing a cheaper shipping option instead of one with LAG/HAG; I have no liability here. My terms of service are very clear, I owed you nothing, but was still nice enough to make an exception. Next time, do the right thing instead of putting the blame on the seller.

All three scorpions were very healthy when they were in my care. Also, that is not mycosis.
Quality beetles. No problems.
Purchase Date
3-29-21
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
I purchased some Blue Death Feigning Beetles. Communication was quick and concise. The price was fair. Everything arrived in good shape. No complaints here.
Great Seller
Purchase Date
3/27/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Very good prices!!!
  • Reasonable shipping prices!!!
  • Great communication!!!
  • Patient!!!
Cons
  • None!!!
He is a great seller, very patient and great communication!!! Very nice dude and gave LAG for 2 day shipping. Prices for everything is great!!! 10/10 would recommend!
2 members found this helpful.
J
junkaiwangisme
oh forgot to mention what I bought lol. It was 9 scorpions of various sp, and 1 centipede. My close friend bought 10 centipedes from him before as well with no DOAs.
Amazing seller!
Purchase Date
03/25/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Good prices
  • Great species variety
  • Good communication
  • Fast shipping
  • Good packaging
  • Healthy critters
Cons
  • None
Ordering was really easy because the communication was really good and pretty fast. Prices are fair and the critters are well packaged. All arachnids bought arrived healthy and active. I have nothing bad to say. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
One member found this helpful.
Great animals, prices, and service
Purchase Date
3/22/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Huge selection of native inverts, good prices, fast communication/shipping
Cons
  • None
I bought a centipede, trapdoor, and false tarantula from celestus and had a great experience: his prices were dirt cheap, the animals arrived quickly and safely, and his communication was fast and on point. I’d definitely buy from him again.
One member found this helpful.
Great Seller!
Purchase Date
02/14/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
4.00 star(s)
Price
4.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Quick communication
  • Takes care of his customers
  • Healthy animals
Cons
  • None
I ordered some spiders off him; unfortunately there was one doa but he quickly offered to send a replacement and became a very trustworthy seller imo after that! The spiders including the replacement for the doa were very healthy and in great shape. I'd highly recomend it if you're thinking about buying animals of him.

Attachments

One member found this helpful.
Top