Zebra pillbug ready-made display enclosure?

Ryodraco

Arachnopeon
Hi all, I'm considering starting a zebra pillbug colony for display in my room. I have no experience with isopods, but from everything I've read it seems like this species is pretty easy to keep provided I can figure out that balance of humidity and ventilation.

But from what I've read one issue I've seen is that most recommendations include basically building/altering the enclosure yourself (cutting appropriate sized holes in the top, adding mesh to the holes). I don't really trust my construction skills to look good at all nor to be done correctly. Many recommended enclosures are also plastic/opaque boxes that I wouldn't be able to observe the interior of except by opening the top.

So in short, are there any enclosures on the market that would house this species well, be easy to view into, and provide proper ventilation with minimal or zero tinkering needed to its structure? Or is all this just not a realistic hope for isopod keeping?

A reptile store in my area has these molded, low, long and narrow acrylic enclosures that look nice and are solid except for some holes on the top. They are also quite expensive though so I'd like to know if there are other options or if anyone here has used such enclosures. I can see about getting pictures of these if it helps.

Edit: Apologies, looking over the forum again I now see there is a board for talking about enclosures. But I don't see an option for moving my topic.

Last edited:

Xaratos

Arachnopeon
Hi all, I'm considering starting a zebra pillbug colony for display in my room. I have no experience with isopods, but from everything I've read it seems like this species is pretty easy to keep provided I can figure out that balance of humidity and ventilation.