Your Suggested First OW Species

athlete96

Arachnosquire
Let me start off by saying I'm in no position to actually be owning an OW. Total beginner here, and I'm just starting my collection. I have a curiosity that I just can't itch.

I want to know from the experienced keepers out there. What OW would you recommend as a jump off point into OW, and why? What species would you say to avoid until you've got years of OW experience, and why? What are your do's and don'ts with any OW (such as husbandry, feeding, etc)?

BC1579

Arachnobaron
I have only one, a P. vittata. I could not have asked for a better first OW (for me, anyway). I'm strictly an observer and don't like to startle any of my Ts. If the Pokie is out and I need to drop food or add water or whatever, I either wait until it retreats or I tap the enclosure to give her a minute to get to her hide.

I don't know for a fact because my Pokie was 4" or so when I got her, but it may be easier to start your OW experience with a sling. That would allow you to see it grow and learn its attitude and behavior as opposed to jumping into a grown spider you know nothing about. Not saying that smaller OWs aren't fast, etc., but I feel like that would help with your confidence of keeping an OW. The only downside to that is that you'd likely have to rehouse it a few times along the way. If you're uncomfortable with OWs, rehousing is going to be a nightmare.

As far as husbandry, I think that's going to vary from T to T. Pokies are different from OBTs which are different from Cyriopagopus.

As far as making the leap from NW to OW, most would likely recommend a P. cambridgei. They're quick arboreals, but without urticating hairs. I don't have one, but they are beautiful, good eaters, pretty good growers, and sometimes like to stay out of their hides on display.

N1ghtFire

Arachnoknight