Your opinion on this reddit post

fearlessdawg

Arachnopeon
Apologies if this is not allowed, but thought would share this post from reddit regarding a likely dying c. Versi.

This person rehomed their c. Versicolor around 3 -4 days ago into an exo terra with a modded lid, and that it was fine before rehouse. Im no expert but this person has clearly stated that they have had a fan blowing at the bottom air vents for the last 3 - 4 days. Surely that is the reason? Wondered what you all thought

https://www.reddit.com/r/tarantulas/comments/102sm3k

Last edited by a moderator:

DonLouchese

Arachnosquire
Hello there,

I've never in my life seen someone actually do this so this is quite new. I am pretty sure that is quite weird. I'd say pretty dangerous for the T. But I can't really tell for 100% if that is what It's making the T so lethargic , but it could be one of the reasons.

As well good questions to ask yourself is ;
1. Did you leave your T without the fan , how did it react then? If he put the fan there in the 1st second of rehouse, that is just straight up weird.
2. Did you use any chemicals to wash the enclosure or might've put something in the enclosure that is suspicious. (For example I keep track of rehouse/sub change/... especially for cases like this) - did i use previous soil / new soil / new branches / old branches / cork tubes etc...

The important thing is to know when did this lethargic movement start to recognize what caused it. If this guy straight up put a fan underneath / rehoused the T and put everything new inside you won't be able to tell what's wrong.