Which T Should I Get?

Which tarantula should I get?

• Poecilotheria

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • Pokie

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Tarantula From India/Sri Lanka Containing Species Such as "Metallica", "Regalis", and "Smithi"

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Arboreal OW Tarantula Starting with "P"

Votes: 2 33.3%

• Total voters

GPulchra

Arachnoknight
Pokies are awesome! I really envy all of you for having one. At first, I was able to convince my parents to let me buy a Pokie, but then they saw robc's video (nom nom), and...yeah, not too thrilled about it anymore. Just wanted to share this with all of you. Have any of you had any problems with OW's/getting OW's? P.S. The title and poll is a joke.

popcangenie

Arachnosquire
never had a OW but i got a irmina ive heard there around the same temperaments start with an irmina or cambrigei there fun :D

fearcrazy8

Arachnopeon
I don't have any experience in pokies, but I have some experience in other OW species. I haven't had any real problems besides the obvious ones, first is the speed, at any given moment a OW species can go up your arm and bite you on the nose, then run back down into its cage and hide before you have any time to react (slight exaggeration, but it gets the point across). Second is the aggression, I haven't had a single OW species that is docile, which kinda adds to the excitement of keeping them. Third is the venom, hasn't been an issue with me cause I have yet to get tagged by a OW species, but there is a bit of intimidation when ever I open up the cage because I know the consequences (Thanks to Robc)

How do you know if your ready for OW species? The answer is as simple as a question. Can you keep your hands off your T, and accept them as display only pets? If you can, then go for it, I don't think you'll have much problem.

Hobo

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Staff member
Don't bother with pokies.

Get a poecilotheria, or an arboreal OW tarantula starting with P.