Wax melters/Candles in the same room as a tarantula?

WillowTheDoll

Arachnopeon
i have a pet tarantula, a b boehmei, and i like to melt dented wax in wax burners, or light candles. i was wondering if it’s okay and safe to do in the same room that my tarantula is in? i’ve done it a couple times since i’ve got him and it doesn’t seem to bother him but i’m new to the hobby so idk.

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
i have a pet tarantula, a b boehmei, and i like to melt dented wax in wax burners, or light candles. i was wondering if it’s okay and safe to do in the same room that my tarantula is in? i’ve done it a couple times since i’ve got him and it doesn’t seem to bother him but i’m new to the hobby so idk.
If they are not scented should be fine. Scented may be fine, but I never risk that.

IntermittentSygnal

Arachnotic
Arachnosupporter +
I believe there was a thread here within the past couple of months or so where @HooahArmy said they were not good. The wax goes into the air and coats the T's book lungs, which they are not able to expel like we can.

SpookySpooder

"embiggened"
Arachnosupporter
Paraffin wax is toxic to a lot of animals. Even an unscented candle has potential for harm. Paraffin wax is usually bleached by adding dioxin; texturized with acrolyn (a known carcinogen); and then mixed with animal-based stearic acid. You burn this and then inhale it. Yummy.

Scented candles use a wide variety of chemicals that are usually not listed, of which is would be nigh impossible to tell what is toxic and what isn't unless you test it.

There are candles specifically labelled "not for use by aquariums" reason being their byproducts can settle and condense into the water column. I've seen people in that hobby coat their tanks over time and kill everything inside. Some argue running charcoal negates that, but is a silly response to the issue at hand.