Odd behavior?

Xie

Arachnopeon
Ok, I'm new at this scorpion ownership thing. So far so good. However I was wondering about something. My scorp. an Emp. keeps doing this weird headstand thing with his butt in the air could someone tell me what the heck its doing... I have no clue.

His legs are all on the ground, his pincers in the air, with his rear end sticking in the air and his stinger against his back. Is this normal?

Thanks, Xie.:confused:

~Abyss~

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Perfectly normal mines do that all the time. It might just be grooming it self but I've seen them do it just for the hell of it. Usually when there aren't any other scorpions around and they're near a heat source.

xVOWx

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Yeup, it's normal. If you want to see something interesting throw a bunch of sterylized plastic leaves in there, chances are it will eventually drag them out of the way and pile them into a corner or something. That's what mine does anyway.

nuclear_zombies

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Yes, I've seen my Emperors do that, it is curious behaviour indeed. I have a male who is by himself, he stacks bark chips in the corner of his tank. It's really neat to watch him move them.

xVOWx

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I think they just don't like a bunch of clutter around their burrow. A clear area would make it easier to ambush prey.

Mark Newton

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
It's called stilting....it's a thermoregulatory behaviour scorpions do to reduce the degree of heat being dumped onto the body. It works via the principles of convective cooling. High temps and/or high humidity can initiate the behaviour.

H. cyaneus

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Mark,

Females will also stilt before giving birth. Like a few weeks beforehand, not the birthing basket. Is this something different?

Mike

H. cyaneus

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Thanks, would that help in the birthing process? I guess if the embryo's were cooler they would theoritcally conract and be easier to birth?

Mike