New owner to OBT, should I keep it?

Nyx88

Arachnopeon
I just bought an OBT and was informed after the purchase that it spits venom and could kill my dog if it ever bit him. Is this true? I'm a little worried that I made the wrong choice in accepting this tarantula since I'm a beginner and really --I've only wanted a pink-toe T. Anyways, long story short --should I keep the OBT or return it?

Chris_Skeleton

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I just bought an OBT and was informed after the purchase that it spits venom and could kill my dog if it ever bit him. Is this true? I'm a little worried that I made the wrong choice in accepting this tarantula since I'm a beginner and really --I've only wanted a pink-toe T. Anyways, long story short --should I keep the OBT or return it?
It doesn't "spit" venom. How big is your dog? Though I'm not sure if that is a factor, but I have heard that a bite can kill a dog. If you make a secure setup and are careful when doing maintenance, the risk of it escaping is low. Where does your dog stay? Would it have the chance to come in contact?

Though if you aren't ready for it, I would say return it.

jgod790

Arachnoknight
Well Obt's are more venomous then your average tarantula, and it is defiantly not an "ideal" beginner T, but you already have it, and Obt's are a very prized and beautiful species. It would be a crime if you just got rid of it. Just don't be stupid, why would you have to worry about it biting your dog? Does your dog plan on handling it or something? Just be VERY careful, and don't try to handle it and make sure its enclosure is 110% escape proof. Don't do anything to aggravate it, and it wont spit venom at you. So I would say NO dont get rid of it, just be very careful, and welcome to the wonderful world of tarantula care and husbandry. Talk to an Obt owner and find out basic care, and take EVERY precaution possible. Keep the enclosure WELL out of the dogs reach, and you will be fine.