New mystery addition??

crawltech

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
picked up this guy today...labeled, "peruvian green birdeater"...have no idea what sp. he/she is...anybody take a guess??...I would say s/he is about 3inches or so

very striking colours!....quick little guy aswell, bolted on me, ended up inder a piece of cork bark on the carpet...

heresis a horrible ventral shot....yeesh

Mack&Cass

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Did you get it from Bruce? It looks exactly like our Theraphosidae sp. Peru (which is believed to be a species of Cyclosternum) according to TC.

Cass

Koh_

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
im not good at Identifying Ts but looks like Theraphosidae sp.peru..

Koh_

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
haha cass we wrote same thing at the same time! the pics above reminds me one of pics from T.canada. Maybe that's why. lol but u were bit faster lol

AllieCat

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
I have no idea what he is but he sure does have a purty bottom!!! :D

Philth

N.Y.H.C.
Old Timer
Did you get it from Bruce? It looks exactly like our Theraphosidae sp. Peru (which is believed to be a species of Cyclosternum) according to TC.

Cass
According to this, its not a Cyclosternum. See the note at the bottom of the page about the urticating hairs.

Under the right lighting the males are some of the prettiest spiders I've seen.

Remember when the name birdeater use to mean a big spiders:rolleyes:

Later,Tom

miarachnids

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Thanks for that Tom.
I have a bunch of these. Some were puchased as Cyclostarnum sp. "Machala". the MM and another female were purchased as Cyclosternum mocropus.

Moltar

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
That is a freaking gorgeous freaking spider, I love the gold but don't really see any green. I also don't see it eating any birds. No idea what it is but I agree it looks like it may not be a theraphosid at all.