Just Bought Very First Tarantula

KerryKing

Arachnopeon
Yo! I'm new to this site (and spiders themselves, for that matter), but after much research and months talking the parents into owning one, I finally got a tarantula. I didn't know what he even was at first, because the pet store just made up a common name and did not give me a scientific name, so I had to identify him by pictures alone. Apparently, s/he is a "Lasiodora parahybana", or "Brazilian salmon" as it's sometimes called. Apparently, s/he's also no a very good beginer spider either, however I've had no problem with him so far.

Anyways, if any other owners of this piticular species have any tips on a proper upbringing, your suggestions are well apprecated. Thanks!

Mendnwngs

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Wow.. So much for starting small LOL...

l. Parahybana can get up to 7-9" and some females can weigh as much as 4 OZ!!! (Can you say Quarter pounder?)

(Am I right on the species? Anyone? I believe so)

Im really new to this as well, but I have yet to find this place anything less than helpful, and smart!

Welcom to the forums, and as said above, keep feeding that sucker. I set up a cricket keeper (along with crix food, and sponge water) for less than 10$ Perfect place to keep a steady supply of well nourished spider food! :)

-Jason

Godzilla2000

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Congrats! You'll get hooked on Tarantulas. I guarentee it. For me it was just, "Oh. I'll get just one." And 1 has turned into almost 20. But I'm a lightweight compared to some other enthusiasts here.

Last edited:

TheDon

ArachnoDon
Old Timer
Hello Good to see another person taking an interest in tarantulas I remember reading somewhere that said that it will be the people who collect and understand tarantulas that will end up being the ones that will save them =) And I think that is somewhat true.