Jumping Spider heat question

fizzyelephant

Arachnopeon
Hi, I’m a very new to spiders and am interested in keeping a Phidippus Regius. I have done a lot of research, I have a zilla micro habitat enclosure in which I will put cork bark and either aquarium gravel or coco substrate and I have found a local petstore that has flightless fruit flies and mealworms.

The one thing I’m not sure about is temperature, I have read that jumping spiders ideal temperature is between 20 and 30 degrees celsius, which would be fine during the day, but at night time the room I will be keeping the spider in can drop to 18 degrees celsius so my question is: will I need a heat pad for during the night, or will my spider be fine?

Again, I’m new to this so if I’m doing anything wrong please let me know! I would hate for my spider to be uncomfortable or unhappy :)

magouilles

Arachnoknight
you should use a heat pad but not under the enclosure
make sure to make research about how to use heat pads correctly (there are plenty of threads here with experience keepers who do use them)
18°C celsius is a tad too cold but I'm unsure wether it could live fine or it would eventually die

fizzyelephant

Arachnopeon
aha, I‘ll look at the other threads about heating and do some more research on how to use them, thank you!

Introvertebrate

Arachnoprince
Arachnosupporter
I'm an American, so 18 degrees Celsius means nothing to me. :) But 65 degrees Fahrenheit is about as low as you'd want to go. Most folks on message boards are anti-supplemental heat, but as long as you follow the heat pad's instructions, you should be okay. I suspect that the vast majority of people who have had problems with heat pads did something wrong.

fizzyelephant

Arachnopeon
interesting, is there a reason why most people are against it? I’ll definitely make sure I know what I’m doing before I set one up. Or, would a heat lamp be better? Thank you very much for your help!

Introvertebrate

Arachnoprince
Arachnosupporter