Help!

Trygon

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi,
I was able to take a close look at one of my emps for the first time in weeks today (as they have been held up in burrows). It is absolutely coved in mites!!! It is acting very sluggish and i think the mites are covering over its lungs and stuff. I am still very new at this and i need some advise. If this guys going to survive i think ill have do do something more drastic then drying out the encloser etc... he needs those things off. :(

I hope those things arnt going to spread to my other tanks... ugh

thanks in advance
-trygon

fusion121

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Trygon said:
Hi,
I was able to take a close look at one of my emps for the first time in weeks today (as they have been held up in burrows). It is absolutely coved in mites!!! It is acting very sluggish and i think the mites are covering over its lungs and stuff. I am still very new at this and i need some advise. If this guys going to survive i think ill have do do something more drastic then drying out the encloser etc... he needs those things off. :(

I hope those things arnt going to spread to my other tanks... ugh

thanks in advance
-trygon
Put the scorpion in the fridge for 10mins to slow it and the mites down, get a cotton bud and moisten it, use this to remove the mites from the scorpion. Take the enclousure, empty it completely, clean it (and all the decoration) with a bleach solution and rinse very well and then start afresh. You can also do a search for "predatory mites" for another method. Also get some fresh crickets(or other food stuff) as the ones your using are probably the source of the infestation. As a preventative measure always microwave your substrate before putting it in the enclousure and remove dead crickets/remains continually.

WorldTour

Arachnoknight
Old Timer