help ID me

hemingway

Arachnopeon
Hi there folks. Ok, I'm fairly new to scorps, my experience at this point being restricted to a few different heterometrius and pandinus species. Well, I found an interesting specimen at a pet store when I went to visit my brother this weekend. They had little idea what it might be, but said it came with a shipment of emperors. They had tentatively identified it as in the Opistophthalmus genus. I know pics aren't the best way to ID a scorp, but I was hoping you might have some thoughts. Here's what I know...

-She's pushing 2" total length, and is quite chubby (pregnant?)
-She'd been kept on dry peat substrate with (gasp) water crystals, so was dehydrated (I've fixed that)
-She's pretty aggressive, but with the claws, not the stinger

I'm assuming if she's an opisto. of some sort, a relatively dry setup with deep substrate for burrowing will be in order. Ok, here's the best pic I could do in my mom's basement before I got in trouble.

Thanks.

Kris

Attachments

ANTHONY.T

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Heterometrus fulvipes or xanthopus no ???

Last edited:

brandontmyers

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
I don't think so, the two you mentioned are in India and Pakistan this however is most likely a Opistophthalmus spp

skinheaddave

SkorpionSkin
Arachnosupporter +
Looks like a Hemiscorpionidae to me. More specifically, the part of the Hemiscorpionidae family that used to be contained in Liochelidae. Clearly it is not Hadogenes since it does not have prominent/numorous trichobothria on the pedipalps. That leaves Iomachus, Cheloctonus and Opisthacanthus as the prime suspects. To me it looks most like Opisthacanthus, but you would really have to get a look at the tarsal segments and potentially the denticles to be sure.

Cheers,
Dave

hemingway

Arachnopeon
O. asper?