Help! I need to convince my parents!

guesskatiejules

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Hey everybody!

I'm new to scorps in general, and I've been thinking about getting a pandinus imperator, or at most a babycurus jacksoni. Problem is, my parents are concerned about a scoprion being in our house, and also problems transporting it when I go to college. Do you guys have any good arguments I can use to convince my parents? :?

Your imput would be greatly appreciated! {D

edesign

AB FB Group Moderatr
Old Timer
well...i don't own any, yet...but everything i've read about the P. imperators says that they rarely ever sting, aren't aggressive (always a rare exception to any rule...but by and large they're docile), occasionally pinch but only in self defense, not too fast so catching them should they escape shouldn't be all that hard. Bottom line...they're prob the most docile scorpion species out there and those are the reasons that they're recommended as a first scorpion for almost anyone. Kinda like the Grammastola rosea (tarantula)...same nature, rarely ever bites and very docile...but you will read about some people's G. rosea's that are aggressive, but they're by far and large the exception to the rule.

Also...the sting of the Emperor isn't any worse than a bee sting unless you're allergic to it, but getting stung by one from what i hear is a feat in itself lol.

hopefully someone more knowledgable than me about this will chime in :)

Fergrim

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
I think you're on the money with everything you said, Edesign. Not only that, but is isn't a pet anyone in your house has to deal with except for you! Liken it to a fish, it's not like it'll be begging for scraps at the dinner table :) It sits in it's tank and you watch it!

Brian S

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
You can also keep an Emp in a kritter keeper which has a good lid and can be put in an out of the way place. No one would even notice it unless pointed out.

Raan_Jodus

Arachnodemon
Old Timer