Heat pack question

Transylvania

Gondorian
Old Timer
Worried! Heat packs...

Okay, this is my first time shipping a T so I need some info. I'm shipping a big sling off today using overnight shipping, but I only have 8-hour heat packs.
The forecast for my area is:
Today
High- 81°F
Low- 48°F
Tomorrow
High- 50°F
Low- 31°F

And the forecast for the recipient is:
Today
High- 63°F
Low- 34°F
Tomorrow
High- 38°F
Low- 26°F

I'm hoping the 8-hour heat packs will warm up the insulation and keep the box warm by the time it gets to the other person's house. Am I right about that (oh please say yes) or do I need to get some longer-lasting heatpacks?

Last edited:

green_bottle_04

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
yeah man. the 8 hour should be fine. just use alot of news paper shavings and a styrofoam box and it should be just fine. if you are using ups. over night shipping they gurantee it to be there by noon the next day.

WyvernsLair

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
make sure the heat pack is on the otherside side of the insulating wall of stryofoam than the spider.. don't let the heat pack be next to the spider directly. For one heat pack.. might be best to have one on the bottom of the box then have the insulating styrofoam sheet on top of it.. then a good layer of shredded paper and then the spider then more paper before capping it off with another stryofoam sheet.... considering the temps on the other end, you might want to also think about maybe another heat pack on top of the upper foam sheet.

since they are only 8-hour packs... it might be best if you can try to do a late afternoon shipping.. box it up right before you take it to drop off. That means the spider won't be subjected to the outside and inside heat during the first part of the journey where the heat could potentially get excessive. The inside heat is needed more for the overnight part of the trip anyway looking at your temp predictions.