Grammostola pulchra female worth

Ratmosphere

Arachnoking
Whats an average US price of a female of this species that’s 4.5”+? I found a mature one for $450 and was just wondering if it’s worth it.

Nightshady

Dislike Harvester
I'm new to the hobby, but from my perusing I've seen MF's in the $200-400 range.

JohnR

Arachnopeon
Not surprised if keepers/collectors looking for this sp will snag this even for that price!

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Whats an average US price of a female of this species that’s 4.5”+? I found a mature one for $450 and was just wondering if it’s worth it.

I've owned this species before. It's beautiful if you like solid black. But not at all worth that much to me. They weren't always this expensive either. I've seen them for 250-300 more frequently than above that ranch.

You could get any other NW Brachy, and a few other Gram's for far less and get the same type of behavioral observations.

I'd never pay that much for a tarantula, just not worth it to me.

Ghost56

Arachnobaron
That's definitely on the steep end. I'd pass but that's ultimately up to you. They are a little on the harder side to find but unless you've got the extra cash to blow, I think it'd be worth waiting for a better deal.

BoyFromLA

Spoon feeder
Arachnosupporter +
Or you can get a Brachypelma schroederi.

Think of it as G. pulchra, but smaller.

Goopyguy56

Arachnoangel
I have a sling right now. If it turns out to be a male I havo no issue paying 200 bucks for a sexed female. The good thing about g pulchra, even males live for 7 to 8 years. I think there so expensive because they are apparently very difficult to breed and they cant be imported. Maybe someday they will be as common as g pulchripes but who knows.

The Grym Reaper

Arachnoreaper
I think there so expensive because they are apparently very difficult to breed and they cant be imported. Maybe someday they will be as common as g pulchripes but who knows.