Dehydrated?

Flutewhistledrum

Arachnopeon
Hey all, I have a juvenile B. Hamorri I got a couple months back. I’m new to the hobby and this was my first tarantula so I’m learning as I go. I’ve been feeding him a cricket every week as the pet shop suggested and I have his viviranium set up nearby my radiator as the house I live in gets quite cold in the winter time and the heating only stays on for 2 hour intervals so I have a heat mat on the side for night time (his favourite spot to chill). He was settling in quite well, dug a burrow, feeding regularly. However, about 3 weeks ago now I tried feeding him a cricket and he let the cricket run past him without budging. I thought nothing of it and left the cricket in there since he wasn’t showing any signs of molting anyway. About an hour later I check again and he had let the cricket run past him back out of the burrow and up the wall. So I took the cricket out and didn’t really give it a second thought. I then got rid of the crickets as they had started producing larvae and went and got some wax worms to switch up his diet a little. However, this is where the problems started.. he just refuses them and throws a threat pose at them. I still didn’t really think anything of it.. maybe he is just a fussy eater? Maybe he is going into premolt? So I just tried again a few days later.. same thing. And it’s been the same for the past couple of weeks but I don’t think he is in premolt as his abdomen has become quite small from what I can see. But he is also spending a whole lot less time out in the open. Maybe because I disturbed him every few days to try and feed him? I’m not sure what to think really. His abdomen doesn’t have a “shrivelled” appearance so I’m not overly worried at the moment but what do you guys think? Should I be concerned, bring the crickets back or leave him be?

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer