Choosing an Avicularia

AliciaMarie

Arachnopeon
Hi all,

I am new to the hobby and would like to start out with an Avicularia. Tarantula Canada currently has three morphotypes of Avicularia avicularia in: metallica, geroldi and kwitara. I can't decide which one to get. The geroldi looks gorgeous. What are the differences between the three?

Liam52

Arachnopeon
“Metallica” is just a different morph of A. Avicularia (M6 to be exact), so it’s standard Avic husbandry requirements. I have an adult male that I absolutely love. He’s very laid back for the most part but doesn’t hesitate to leap across the enclosure if provoked. They’re a beautiful display species in the right enclosure. I have mine in a tall acrylic enclosure and he spends most of his time on the glass or on his web hammock. When you shine light on them they have an almost fiber optic quality! 10/10 would recommend!

Btw: my profile pic is my best pic of him!

AliciaMarie

Arachnopeon
Thank you so much @Tenebrarius and @Liam52. I have done a fair bit of research on A. avicularia and its husbandry. I should have phrased my question better. I was more curious about size, temperament and appearance differences between the three morphotypes. Your Metallica sounds awesome @Liam52 and very much what I'm looking for temperament wise.

Thekla

Arachnoprince
Don't just look at Avics... IMO C. versicolor is one of the best beginner arboreal T. They're quite hardy when kept properly and also very laid back as well (at least mine is ;)). And they are absolutely gorgeous! ♥

20190914_pretty after rehouse.jpg

SonsofArachne

Arachnoangel