Cheap Hide Idea

MetalheadRAM

Arachnopeon
I've found a way to replicate the hides you would find at your LPS, but for way less $$. I've been using one with my T for a few months now and it works great. I originally thought about finding fallen tree parts to make hides from, but that just seemed so unsafe in terms of mites and other living things, so I kept thinking and came up with this :

First, you take a dowel rod (Small - 1/2 in. Diameter. Medium - 3/4 in. Large - 1 in. ) and mark it off into even sections with a ruler/measuring tape. The one I made here is 1/2 in. in diameter and I marked it off at 4 inches. Once its marked off you can cut it with a small saw like the one pictured.

Once you've cut the dowel rod, make sure you sand the edges of the pieces you cut so they cant cut your T.

Now is where size comes into play. The size of your hide will determine how many dowel rod pieces you need. My hide is rather small and i used eight 4 inch pieces (32 inch dowel rod). I have also made a larger hide out of 3/4 inch dowel rod using the same length and number. Once you have your pieces together, rubberband them to a bottle/can in an arch. The bottle I used for the 1/2 dowel rod is around two inches in diameter. A larger bottle will result in a wider, lower hide, and vice versa.

Take glue (Not just any kind, because many are toxic to Tarantulas. I use Non-Toxic Wood Glue, but I have heard of people using silicone before) and seal the spaces between each rod. You may want to do a prettier job than i did, and with wood glue you can even sand it down to make it look even better.

Make sure its completely dry before putting it in with your tarantula. When its finished it should look something like this :

1/2 in.

3/4 in.

I like they way they look, their functionality, and the fact that dowel rods cost about 50 cents. If anyone has any other cool ways to make hides I'd love to see em. Thanks for reading my post :)

Ictinike

Arachnobaron
Old Timer