Anza Borrego Advice Needed

jenoi

Arachnopeon
Hi everyone,

I have heard that in October in Anza Borrego park, California, there are tarantulas all over the road near the Elephant Trees trail. Does anyone know anything about this? I'm Canadian and we don't have anything like that up here so I'm thinking of making a sidetrip and checking it out on my California adventure I'm planning for next fall. I'd be passing that way on Sept. 28th. Would there be any out yet? Are they out during the day, or only at night? Do I have the location right? What kind are they? Any advice or links would be super appreciated!

Cheers,

josh_r

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
i have been hunting our native tarantulas for at least 10 years if not more. i can tell you that there are NO specific localities that they are ONLY found in for most species. most species have HUGE ranges and can be found just about anywhere as long as you are in the right habitat. you can stop on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere in the desert and find tarantulas with ease. if you go down there in september, the males should be wandering during the day and night. females will not be wandering, but in burrows. i also suggest staying away from anza borrego for hunting. you will get busted FAST!

put it this way, you can go just about anywhere in southern california from august to october and find male tarantulas wandering. you can go ANY time of the year and find females and subadults if you know how to look. they are very common and thats just the thing.... you just gotta open your eyes and look. lood luck

-josh

JMoran1097

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Hi everyone,