Lighting? Yes or No and why?

Arachnosold1er

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Do Ts like or dislike light or does it depend on the T? Is it necessary or is it a cause of stress and discomfort?

slinky1000

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
mm

i keep getting told they don't like too much light, but i'm new to T's and keep getting shot down when i say anything!

clam1991

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
well i am going to side with the no light category

im sure it doesnt hurt them or anything but if i was that small id feel safer hiding in or under something

especially with a big monkey looking thing peeking in to see me every day;) {D

testdasi

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
i keep getting told they don't like too much light, but i'm new to T's and keep getting shot down when i say anything!
If I happened to be one that "shot you down", I apologize. Didn't mean to do that.
And you are right to say that many people believe too much lighting is bad. I agree with that because T's are nocturnal. The argument here is how much is "too much".
From my perspective, too much = direct hot sunlight and/or enough light to heat the enclosure up without anywhere for the T to hide from the heat. Other than that, I haven't seen any sign I would consider stress/discomfort by normal room lighting on my T's. Basically nothing to worry about.

slinky1000

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
no

no, a few guys on here seem to revel in shotting down 'noobs'.
i dont use lighting as was told T's are nocturnal and dont like direct light. she does see natural daylight, but have no night lighting. i have been told they dont see red light so could use that at night

Moltar

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Well, they're nocturnal so... they prefer dark. Different species will react differently but i'd say direct lighting is not going to help anyway.

My P regalis and P striata for example both RUN from the flashlight if it's been dark in the room. Some others like brachys and grammies don't seem to mind as much.

Arachnosold1er

Arachnobaron