Im new to bugs and stuff

Adventurebro

Arachnopeon
Hi all my name is rich and iv just recently bought 2 blue death feigning beetles and i love them id like to add more to the tank can someone recommend other desert beetles beside the stink bug because i like to hold them and watch them crawl.

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer
There are an assortment of darkling beetles and ironclad beetles that would do well with death feigning beetles. You might like wooly darkling beetles. They are cute, fuzzy, pretty active - and they don't play dead when you try to hold them!

https://bugguide.net/node/view/1478254/bgimage

BuzzSwole

Arachnosquire
Literally any desert beetle is fine. Though other insects might get eaten. I found a fungus beetle on my desk this winter and I threw him in there because why let him freeze outside... well he went into their main hide one day and next day they threw out his wings :anxious:
https://shop.bugsincyberspace.com/Beetles_c6.htm
He’s a great guy to order from.

Schledog

Arachnosquire
Welcome to the hobby! As for beetles go most darklings are great and most won’t spray you like the “stink bugs”
As for other critters if you can find velvet ants they will live fine with your beetles although you can’t hold them. You can also keep hadrus arizonis (sorry I forgot the common name) with the beetles. I personally keep mine with some rough death feigning beetles.

BuzzSwole

Arachnosquire
Welcome to the hobby! As for beetles go most darklings are great and most won’t spray you like the “stink bugs”
As for other critters if you can find velvet ants they will live fine with your beetles although you can’t hold them. You can also keep hadrus arizonis (sorry I forgot the common name) with the beetles. I personally keep mine with some rough death feigning beetles.
I forgot the velvet ants lol and it’s called a desert hairy scorpion. Though if you don’t build them a pre made burrow on the glass you’ll never see them again lol

Adventurebro

Arachnopeon