Getting my first T

RonnyT

Arachnosquire
I have been interested In arachnids for a while. I've been lurking on these forums for I long time and have finally made an account. I have decided to get my first T, a B. Albopilosum. It's coming as a sling in a couple of days, and the leg span is approximately 1/2 inch. I have got a plastic container, that is slightly wider and taller than a 16 oz deli cup. I poked a row of holes on top for cross ventilation. I got a bottle cap for water, and for the substrate, I'm using Coco fiber mixed with peat moss. I have also provided it a cork bark for hiding, and Sphagnum moss beside it. Is there any advice for my first T, and other husbandry recommendations?

Thekla

Arachnoprince
That sounds all good to me (but I'm still a newbie myself), but I guess it's best you post a pic of the enclosure. :)

Venom1080

Arachnoemperor
Although they can be kept drier when they have some size on them. As slings they need to constantly be kept slightly moist.

And I hate to ask, but you do have a lid right? Sounds silly but I've seen it before..

Be sure the vent holes aren't bigger than the spiders carapace. For spiders under 1", I use a needle to make ventilation.

Last edited:

RonnyT

Arachnosquire
Although they can be kept drier when they have some size on them. As slings they need to constantly be kept slightly moist.

And I hate to ask, but you do have a kid right? Sounds silly but I've seen it before..

Be sure the vent holes aren't bigger than the spiders carapace. For spiders under 1", I use a needle to make ventilation.
Thank you for the advice, but I don't have a kid, I am the kid.

darkness975

Latrodectus
Arachnosupporter +