a noob's questions re: Aphonopelma sp. paysoni

geerdude

Arachnopeon
Though i've done tons of research, I'm still a noob so please help and be gentle :)

I bought my first T on Monday, it's a juvenile Aphonopelma sp. paysoni almost 2" in size. Here's a pic:

T 2.jpg

She was just fed (and very well) not long ago and since she's in a new home, I decided not to feed her for a few days. She found her new hiding place:

T 1.jpg

She occasionally would come out but generally not very active. Then this morning I found out she completely closed off her hiding place:

T 6.jpg

You can still see her eyes so she's not on her back yet.

T 7.jpg

Questions:
1. This is a species that I had never seen in local pet stores before (Calgary, Canada). Does it look right to you or still too young to tell?

2. Is she (assuming it's a female) in premolt? I hadn't had a chance to find out if she would refuse food and I couldn't tell if her belly was getting darker.

3. If she's in premolt, she'll likely not have any food for another two weeks. Is it ok for a T at that age to go without food for 3 + weeks?

4. My guess is I should just leave her alone until she digs out of her burrow?

5. How often should I mist the tank, being a desert species but about to molt?

Many thanks in advance.

PS: She has no name yet. Suggestions?

Shell

ArachnoVixen AKA Dream Crusher AKA Heartbreaker
Staff member
This isn't a species I am overly familiar with, so I can't say if it "looks right," but it's a nice spider regardless. :)

As far as sealing off it's hide, not to worry, it knows what it's doing and will come out when it's ready. From the pics, it looks well fed, and it won't do any harm to go without food until it's molted and ready. My G. pulchripes, when she was about the same size, sealed herself off for almost 6 weeks.