Versicolor care.

Dreaddinit

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
As some of you know I got my 1st Versicolor. Its a sling about 2 inches maybe. The person who I got it from put it in some rubbermade container thats pretty nice but it webs the top of the jug up. Bad thing is it has a twist off top and it ruins the web when I try to feed it. It also runs around the whole enclosure like its scared to death. Is there an easier way to feed it or anything. I dont want to stress the little guy out trying to take care of it. Any help on this or any other care pointers are by all means welcome. Im still a newbie! Thx in advance.

Michael.

Tony

Arachno-pragmatarian
Old Timer
Make a new cage really. Some people use vertical bean baby containers, with the lid serving as the base so you can pull the longer part of with the retreat in tact at the top....I use deli cups and it is a pain.....Lots of little ventilation holes too..
T

eksong

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I stuck a little piece of cork bark right by the cup side and after a little prodding here and a little pushing there I finally got it to stay on the cork bark and web there =/

protheus

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Dreaddinit said:
Bad thing is it has a twist off top and it ruins the web when I try to feed it. It also runs around the whole enclosure like its scared
Yep. Maybe get a container that has a narrow lid on one side or in the center. Avicularia seem to like to make webs in high places. :)

Chris

Ker

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
My versi sling is kept in a glass spice jar, so I also had to deal with the twisting lid issues. Its been two months, but she/he finally webs just under the lid, although more often than not, its up on the lid when I am taking it off. At least now I dont have to worry about destroying the web every time I have to throw it a cricket, just making it dizzy.

caligulathegod

Arachnodeity
Old Timer