tarantula's substrate

zaidyn

Arachnopeon
Hello, I'm very new to Tarantula's, and I was just wondering where I can buy top soil in Australia that is fine for my Tarantula's. Everything seems to have fertilizers and stuff in it, and I dont want to risk it. I'm currently using coco fiber as substrate, but I want to make my enclosures look natural with real dirt and live plants.

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Live plants are often more trouble than they are worth

Can’t say where you would find it, garden stores, farms variety of places. In my locale I could never find it

Mustafa67

Arachnoknight
Hello, I'm very new to Tarantula's, and I was just wondering where I can buy top soil in Australia that is fine for my Tarantula's. Everything seems to have fertilizers and stuff in it, and I dont want to risk it. I'm currently using coco fiber as substrate, but I want to make my enclosures look natural with real dirt and live plants.
Don’t overcomplicate it. Just use coco fibre live plants with Ts is a bad idea

TheraMygalo

Accipitridae
Arachnosupporter +
If you have reptisoil, or cocofiber, use that.

live plants will need fertilizer at some point. Its a whole other game. Some tarantulas even dig up the plants. I am professional horticulturist, plants can grow in coco fiber. Its been made to replace peat which is bad for environnement. However, we need to feed our plants. With compost and fertilizers. An seaweed based fertilizer will probably be best at that point, if in contact with live animals. Any fertilizer that is above 10-10-10 risks to have chemical fertilizers in it.

for my indoor plants, i just you worm compost and seaweed fertilizer.

if you are new to tarantulas, get comfortable and knowledgeable with your tarantula. As you get confident, the board is full of threads with members that have planted enclosures.