Seeking opinions on new A.Avic

JohnxII

Avicoholic
Old Timer
Hi fellow T lovers! I've had my 1st T, which is an AA, for about a week. Appetite is good so far (had 3 crix). However, it is not readily building its web retreat on the upper vivarium as described by most popular T books. Would it feel safe enough resting on the sides of clear plastic walls? I covered the vivarium top with a large camo-printed handkerchief...

And any opinions on my tank setup?

- 1.5-2 in. substrate
- water dish with cotton
- drift wood (didn't bake or sterylize)
- hydro/thermometer on bottom corner (can't measure the arboreal's nearby conditions, but I fear one day it would fall and potentially crush my T if I mounted it near the top)
- heat mat at the back
- plastic fake leaves (more at the top which the attached pic can't show)

Attachments

JohnxII

Avicoholic
Old Timer
Also, I read about Rick West's sexing method... but I have zero experience on this... could someone give me a hand? I think it's still young (about 3 in.) Is Pinky (as in little finger, not baby mice...) a he or she? Or is the pic not good enough? Many thanks for your help in advance!

Attachments

Bearskin10

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Hi and welcome to the T world, Your set up looks pretty nice the only suggestion I can give you on it is "get rid of the cotton" cotton is bad as is supports mold and bacteria, as for webbing, some web up there enclosure quicker than others and even a few will not web much at all. Sex looks to be a male to me but the picture is pretty dark and hard to tell for sure. Greg

the new guy

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
i definately agree that you should get rid of your cotton. ive had my a. avic for about 3 months now and it hasnt webbed anything at all. i wouldnt worry about it much. welcome to the boards and the addiction.

JohnxII

Avicoholic
Old Timer
Thanks guys, I shall remove the cotton immediately when I get home. However, should I keep the dish at all? Since it seldom touches the ground...