redback spider help

Jordan1998

Arachnosquire
I have a redback spider and she looks really fat (she literally catches everything i give her and eat it immediately) and i was wondering if there’s a danger of her abdomen bursting? She eats so well that im actually scared of it endangering her health. Is this something worth worrying about or is there nothing going on? She is my first spider so i have no experience with them at all. I feed her once a week, should i reduce it to once every 2 weeks or once every month even? I feed her mealworms and sometimes red runners. (I added pictures)

Attachments

NYAN

Arachnoking
Her abdomen won’t burst for no reason. With that being said, it can happen if she’s was dropped or experienced some trauma.

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer
While I have not kept redbacks, I have kept other Latrodectus species, and a swollen abdomen is not cause for alarm. Usually it just means that she has a belly full of eggs in the works. She'll get really fat - and then one morning you'll discover a fresh egg sac, and she'll have lost all that "baby weight." (If only it were so easy for us humans!)

She will continue eating, regain the weight, and repeat the cycle multiple times throughout her adult life, regardless of whether she has mated or not. If you are certain that she has not mated, then you don't need to worry about the eggs being fertile. If she has mated since her last molt - or if she was wild caught as an adult and has not molted in your care - then it's possible that the eggs will be fertile, in which case you may want to pull the sac, or at least make sure she's in an enclosure that hatchlings cannot escape from. (They can easily squeeze through screen or most ventilation holes.)

Jordan1998

Arachnosquire