Please help! Eupalaestrus campestratus stuck in molt

Brachyfan

Deactivated account
I have been waiting for months for the little guy to molt. I gave water 2 days ago and it was fine. No molt yet. Today I went to give it water and noticed it finally molted. But the abdomen is stuck on still. There is a crack in the old exo under the spinarrettes so I don't know if it is blocking the anus or not. There is also a big piece that is lifted up that extends to the carapace.The t is still moving around and drinking at the moment.

I am not sure what to do? Try to get it off or will it come off on its own? I have no experience with this as all my tarantulas have molted fine before.

I tried to get the best pick i can. Freaking out here and this is one of my favorite Ts. I am worried that I will hurt it because it is freshly molted. What do I do? Not much room to work with as it is in a pill jar. On visual inspection the exoskeleton does appear to be loose. 20191230_193151.jpg

Last edited:

Vanessa

Grammostola Groupie
How big is the spider? I would take a cotton swab, or very, very, soft brush (like an eye makeup brush - not a paint brush) soak it down with water and try to very gently stroke it along the abdomen to see if it will come off. It doesn't look like it has cleared the anus, so this is not something you want to necessarily wait and see whether it comes off on it's own.

Brachyfan

Deactivated account
How big is the spider? I would take a cotton swab, or very, very, soft brush (like an eye makeup brush - not a paint brush) soak it down with water and try to very gently stroke it along the abdomen to see if it will come off. It doesn't look like it has cleared the anus, so this is not something you want to necessarily wait and see whether it comes off on it's own.
Thanks for the advice! The t was 1/2" before the molt. I would say it gained a little size.