New to the world of T's

High_Rolling_T

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hey everyone! I'm new to the world of T's.

I just got my first T, a lovely little A. avicularia 2 days ago for a b-day present from my girlfriend. I am new to everything and the last research I have done was about 6 years ago when I was looking for a new pet and settled on a cornsnake instead(easier to convince mom then to get that lol). Anyways, I have several questions after reading over many posts.

1.) As stated, my little guy(not sure if it is a guy , but hey, 50% chance til I get molt to examine), named Ted, is an A. avicularia. Right now I say he has a leg span of about 2.5-3 inches(closer to the 3" size I'd say). Is a 10 gallon terrarium too big?

2.) I notice in a few threads that there should not be more than 1.5x the spiders leg span between the top of the terrarium and the substrate. What is the reasoning for this? Is it purely for safety from prevention of falling long distances?

3.) What are a good suggestion for setting up the terrarium? I mean since A. avicularia are arboreal then I'd assume standing the terrarium up long ways would be a good idea for giving more room to climb, but then again, if I'm keeping only about 1.5 x between the top and substrate wouldn't this be pointless and essentially limit the room as there is less width to move?

4.) How much truth is there to T's drowning in their water bowl's? I've noticed in some pictures people add pebbles/rocks to their bowls to keep it shallow but allow more water/bring the water near the top in deeper bowls(mine is kind of deep but i keep the water shallow at the bottom), this seems like the best solution and prevention to me.

5.) About how often should I mist the terrarium?