male or female bark scorpion? pics included

StonerMo

Arachnopeon
I found this little scorpion in the sink a few nights ago and I was curious if anyone could tell me if it's male or female? I'm not looking to breed, just need to know for a name cuz I've been calling it Fred, but I have a sneaking suspicion that it's a female.

Attachments

Stenodactylus

Arachnosquire
If it is a Centruroides species, you CAN look at the pectines for sex. However, if it reaches its final instar, the metasomal length of males is significantly longer than that of the females. It is an easy way to sex them. :)

StonerMo

Arachnopeon
I found it in Arizona and it's still pretty tiny but honestly I don't understand most of what you said. I'm relatively new to keeping scorpions as pets so idk a lot of the technical terms just yet. Could you explain a little in laymen terms to better help me understand?

Draketeeth

Arachnoknight
I found it in Arizona and it's still pretty tiny but honestly I don't understand most of what you said. I'm relatively new to keeping scorpions as pets so idk a lot of the technical terms just yet. Could you explain a little in laymen terms to better help me understand?
There's a comb-like structure on the underside of a scorpion called the pectines. Females generally have short "teeth" on them while males are significantly longer. "If it is a Centruroides species" you can tell by looking at those.

Or if the male is mature, his metasomal, the tail segment, is longer than a females. Which I guess @Stenodactylus that it appears pretty long even to an untrained eye with no comparison nearby?

StonerMo

Arachnopeon
Thanks so much, helps a ton. Think I might need a magnifying glass to see the "teeth" on the pectines on this little guy cuz I can barely see anything when I look

Greenjewls

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
If I had to throw a guess I would say female, because the tail is short and thick (relatively). But if it's very young it may be early for a guess.

StonerMo