Is releasing dragonflies raised as nymphs in captivity bad for the environment?

AAO

Arachnosquire
I was looking into aquatic invert options recently and I was curious about dragon fly nymphs. I’ve raised aquatic beetles in the past, but never dragonfly larvae. With beetles, I have no problem just raising them their whole lives in captivity, but keeping a fast, active insect like a dragonfly in captivity seems a bit less ideal for them. If a nymph is raised on captive bred prey items, are the contaminants from these livestock a danger to the environment if released? Would the contaminants even exist in the molted adult?

Any tips on how to raise and release nymphs safely?

Thanks for any insight!

AAO

Arachnosquire
I don’t see how it can hurt unless it were an invasive species but I am no expert.
I’m mostly worried about diseases and microbes that are fairly common in captive bred feeders. I know these can be a serious problem with fish and mammals, but insects are a bit more contained biologically so I’m not sure.

Malum Argenteum

Arachnoknight
A bery quick search on Google Scholar turns up a fair number of leads. Though I'm not implying that this one directly addresses your specific case, this gives a flavor of things -- from a paper from Edinburgh's Vet School about captive breeding for reintroduction (https://www.researchgate.net/profil...errestrial-invertebrate-conservation-programs)

"It would be totally irresponsible for zoological collections to undertake breeding and release programs without pathogen risk assessments, and screening to prevent the introduction of diseases into the wild population...[snip]... IUCN guidelines for re-introductions (34) and translocations (35) are as relevant to invertebrates as to vertebrates. "

Some states (Ohio comes to mind as a recent one I read about) prohibit the re-release of wildlife after it has been in held captivity for even a very short time.

charlesbrooks

Arachnopeon