Humidity in T. Albopilosus sling enclosure

jay444

Arachnosquire
Hey,

I think I've put way to much water in the substrate when I made my sling enclosure a couple of days ago (it has not even started to dry) and I think that there is proper ventilation (see attached picture). I know that T. Albopilosus prefer a drier substrate.

Should I rehouse him? I want to stress him the less possible
I'm still kinda new to this.

Thanks for your help :)

95792980_1415440145306518_4450482942187143168_n.jpg

Last edited:

Poonjab

Arachnoking
It’ll be fine on damp sub. That’s generally how I keep my slings.

Last edited:

Thekla

Arachnoprince
As long as the substrate isn't wet it'll be fine. Let it dry out a bit by itself, if necessary. I keep them on slightly damp/moist substrate, they appreciate a bit of dampness in the sub.

But I would definitely replace the hide. If I see it right you've got a paper roll in there... it will mould. Better get a piece of cork bark or half of a flowerpot (can be made out of plastic as well, if you don't have anything else) and bury it in an angle, so only a small opening is visible. Your T will do the rest. :) And add a water dish.

jay444

Arachnosquire
Thank you all for your advices :)

If I see it right you've got a paper roll in there... it will mould. Better get a piece of cork bark or half of a flowerpot (can be made out of plastic as well, if you don't have anything else)
It is, I knew paper was not the best but I didn't have anything else to make a hide. I didn't thought of the half flowerpot, I'll be fixing it today, thanks for the idea.

Thekla

Arachnoprince
Thank you all for your advices :)

It is, I knew paper was not the best but I didn't have anything else to make a hide. I didn't thought of the half flowerpot, I'll be fixing it today, thanks for the idea.
Just make sure there won't be any sharp edges or such. :)

jay444

Arachnosquire