Harpaphe haydeniana (Yellow spotted millipede) found in Portland, Oregon

aprilmayjunebugs

Fiery but Mostly Peaceful
Arachnosupporter
I have a Harpaphe haydeniana that someone found and gave me today. It's still curled up but I put it on a bed of semi wet cocofiber with some moss in a container with ventilation. I can get some rotting wood and leaf litter for it tomorrow and I have read a few old threads so far but if anyone has any tips or tricks to share I would graciously accept any help. This is my first time even seeing one so I'd love to learn more about and if I should keep it.

MadMilli

Arachnoknight
How big is it? Could you send me pictures with a size reference so I can see the condition of the millipede? I’m familiar with Polydesmids as I breed one species myself and there’s various things you can do throughout their life that can make a chance at survival even greater, all depending on age though. So far it sounds like you’re doing good but I would find a rotting log with some really rich soil nearby that has decaying wood pieces mixed in, grab a good bag of that and bake it to remove pests, then once it cools dampen it and use that as the substrate. Then I would probably get some oak leaves from outside or at least deciduous leaves of some kind and shake them out pretty good to get any big insects off then use that without baking it as a boost to the new dirt bioactively. I wouldn’t be concerned with outside materials coming in to the tank (substrate being the exception I would bake that so you can kill off parasites or predatory insects) as long as you know they haven’t been sprayed with pesticides since the millipede originated from the area, it’s already wild caught. Has it uncurled at the point that you’re reading my message?

aprilmayjunebugs

Arachnosupporter