Dart Frog Vivarium Tutorial

Endagr8

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
There's a thread floating around regarding a vivarium contest. This would be my entry if I could find it.

I was enthralled by some of the amphibians' vivaria at the National Zoo. And then I was even more enthralled by the awesome tanks on the internet. I joined and browsed a dart frog website extensively until I had amassed a sufficient understanding on the construction methods I planned to implement. I decided to try building one of these living masterpieces. This is my first attempt.

Supplies I used:

18"x18"x24" Exo Terra (I got it and it's hood/lights in a trade for six P. imperator!)
Exo Terra light hood
Lightbulbs
Silicone
Great Stuff
Driftwood
Cork Bark
Mopani
Razor blades
Knife
Coconut husk chunks
Coconut coir
Water pump*
Vinyl tubing*
Aquarium gravel*
Featherlite
Weed cloth
Atlanta Botanical Gardens (ABG) substrate mix
Distilled water
Toothpicks
Paperclips
Sphagnum moss
Lots of plants
Live oak leaves
Seed pods
Microfauna (white dwarf isopods and springtails)
Spray bottle

Set tank on a surface you can afford to get messy. I used newspapers.

Slather black silicone on the areas you think the three dimensional background might extend into. We use silicone to conceal the Great Stuff background. Also, silicone helps the Great Stuff adhere to the sides and back of an aquarium. Good coverage is important, unless you don't mind the off-white color of the foam showing through. If you plan to place the tank in an area where the back or sides are less visible, then good, opaque coverage isn't quite as important. The silicone I used was a bit more translucent than I would have liked, so I used three tubes to cover the back and sides of this tank. After siliconing, allow at least twenty-four hours for curing. Here's the silicone I used. Thanks to TalonAWD for researching safe silicones! :)