Zophobas morio - protecting eggs

Tarzanus

Arachnopeon
I am quite new to the zophobas breeding and I finally got my first adult darkling beetles, who started laying eggs. I tried giving them some dry japanese knotweed culms and they started placing eggs into the tiny holes and spaces between them. They did not last long, because other beetles came and started eating the eggs. The eggs in small cracks in woody stem of japanese knotweed remained intact, but I don't think it's a good hideout. Not nearly enough space to lay eggs.

Then I tried giving them empty dry corn cob. I've seen them laying eggs and after close inspection (while a female beetle was laying eggs) I saw they can get between extremely small openings into hundreds of tiny compartments and lay their eggs inside. I could not see the eggs, but I could see the female laying eggs that disappeared somewhere in the woody cob. I have a feeling it's a perfect hideout because I rarely see any darkling beetles walking around the cobs, they are too dry and too woody for their taste. They have many better options inside.

I have been thinking - what's the best egg hideout I can use to transfer eggs into separate container. I don't know how many of the eggs survive if I place the beetles into a bran filled container alone. I saw them digging through bran and possibly searching for eggs. Or perhaps trying to hide them deeper, I would guess the first option is more realistic option.

What do you use to transfer beetles? Do you just use oats or bran and then move the beetles every couple of weeks, or do you use vegetables and stuff as a hideout for the females to lay eggs?

coniontises

Arachnosquire
I used to keep Zophobas as pets. Two or three females produce loads of offspring!

How are you keeping adults?

Tarzanus

Arachnopeon