unkown t species.. CAN ANYONE HELP??

ajlauer1984

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
hey everyone i am new to this and well i bought a unknown species of t from a local breeder that he had recieved as a freebie from his supplier for 10dollars and i was wondering if anyone can help me identify it, its pretty bitey, doesnt hesitate to strike at me. its spinnerettes and ventral side are both a bright orange/peach color.. thanks for anyhelp....

gumby

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
that looks just like my A. seemani thats weird another guy just asked for the same help with a spider that has the same light browness and I just got one the same brown as well from a pet store I wonder if it from the same batch mines about 2-2.5" how big is it and can u see any faint dtiping on the knees

ajlauer1984

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
gumby that would have been me, like i said i am new just trying to figure out my way around the site.. mine is about the same size as yours and there isnt really any definate striping...

ajlauer1984

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
so this is just a color phase thats its going through then cause all of the a seemani i have seen are jet black with white stripes on it

Scolopendra55

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
They dont get the black coloration with stripes untill they are almost adults.

Keith Richard

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Scolopendra55 said:
It's an A.seemani.
....and a stressed one by the looks. The first of the pictures seems to show the start of the "blackening" on top of the abdomin. If indeed it is in pre-molt, it's not surprising it's crabby.

ajlauer1984

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
why do you say it looks stressed??? and why is it so darn bitey and aggressive until it comes out of its cage...

Last edited:

Keith Richard

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Lack of abdominal setae (perhaps due to kicking?), and also, look at the leg joints.....clear signs of rubbing, likely due to shipping. It will need deep substrate to allow it to burrow.

ajlauer1984

Arachnosquire
Old Timer