Understanding the fullness/hunger level by looking at the abdomen for slings

mozkaynak

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi,
I have the cutest GBB sling which is less than an inch. I usually feed it once a week with a pinhead/small cricket. I fed it about a week ago. When I check it this morning I notice that its abdomen is still big. I know that abdomen size is a good indicator of hunger/fullness for adult Ts. But I am just not sure whether it is also a good indicator for slings too.
Thanks in advance for your comments!

Forcep

Arachnosquire
I'm very new to Ts but have years of experiences on arthropods. They are very different from vertebrates; immature arthropods will keep blowing up while feeding, until a molt make them skinny and leggy again. So as long as it accept food, just keep feeding it till pre-molt.
BTW, I think you can feed a 1-inch sling more frequently, like twice a week?

kellixo

Arachnopeon
Are you using pinheads or micro crickets?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Blut und ehre

Arachnoknight
Abdomen size not only reflects food intake ??.......It also "can" reflect.......hydration....if it's gravid......if it is in pre-molt......and some females can display a larger abdomen at times!! [not an accurate way to sex a T by the way]
The goal should not to keep your ts "fat"....it is to feed them "properly". A shriveled abdomen is an indicator of a problem ....but a "fat " abdomen can be an indicator of many things.

oooo35980

Arachnosquire
The only good indicator IMO of whether they are hungry is if they eat or not.

Everyone's version of feeding a T "properly" is different. I feed twice a week and remove the prey item if they haven't taken it within an hour or so. I feel that I can then safely assume they weren't hungry.

Yentlequible

Arachnoknight