scorpion noob here: plz help....

How old were you when you got your first scorp? (also post what kind it was)

• Total voters

Readem_Nweep

Arachnopeon
I am not a noob exactly when it comes to scorpions, i have always been fascinated since i was about 10, and i have been studying them since. I just started to get the niche to get one as a pet adn i was wondering, which is the best one to start off with, i know the emperor is a great first one to get, and i was wondering how many can live together since i heard they like to live in groups. Also, if I have more than one, how big should the terrarium be? Another question I have is what is the best food for them? I heard mixing up crickets and cockroaches is the best, but is there a certain size they have to be? Thanks for listening.

Brian S

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
The number living together will be determined by the size of your tank. As for food, crickets and other insects is all I feed mine.

Oh, my first scorp was a C vittatus which I caught when I was 11 or 12 y/o

Readem_Nweep

Arachnopeon
well, im wondering how many should i get and how big should the tank be, i was thinking maybe 3 or even maybe 4.

G. Carnell

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
My first scorp was Euscorpius tergestinus corsicanus, i found it about 10 years ago under one of those concrete blocks,
i was so excited (i didnt know there were scorps in Corsica) that i made my friend run all the way to my house to get a jar ;)

as for the emps, 3-4 is good, best not to get 2, because apparently the larger one will dominate over the smaller one, so having 3 extra scorps will even the agression
as for tank size..... maybe 30cm squared of ground space per adult (???????)

Readem_Nweep

Arachnopeon
so do u think a 10 gallon tank would do?
by the way: there is a scorpion chat going on right now in the chat section join channel #scorpion to chat.

Fergrim

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
a 10 gallon tank is perfect, if not a little big for an emp.