Rescued A. avic last night

DFox

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
So yesterday I call up all of the pet shops in the area I could find (new to the area) and find many roseas, a blondi, an avic, and 1 shop that had an OBT and some others, I can't recall. I'm still very new to the hobby but I liked the idea of an easy arboreal, so I went to pick up the avic. I'm glad I did. They kept it in a small herp haven, which wouldn't be bad because he's only 2.5 in. or so but they had a heat light hanging directly above it, which I'm sure it didn't like. I've got it temporarily in a 10 gal. tank, I plan to put it in something smaller because it seems way too small for that tank. Now I have 2 Ts, a rosea and an avic. :D

P.S. I have a picture in the E fusillae section if anyone would like to try and sex it for me.

Last edited:

UrbanJungles

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Well, hope you can "rescue" some more because now the pet shop will just order a new Avic to stuff in the little cage you mentioned. The little cage by the way was probably better (without the light) than the 10 gallon you now have it in which is way too big for a 2.5" spider.

Congrats and good luck with the new spider.

Skullptor

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
The choice of the word "Rescued" may make you feel better about your purchase, but you bought a tarantula; nothing more, nothing less. As you can tell I don't care for the term "rescue" when talking about buying a T at a LPS because one would have to forget what comes after the purchase, not such an altruistic behavior from a rescuer.

Not meaning to insult but the choice is pretty basic:

You could have purchased from a reputable dealer that takes care of all their tarantulas and you don't have to spend any time thinking about the mis-treatment of the one that comes after yours.

-or

You could buy from a LPS, forget the conditions your little guy was living in and the next little guy will be condemned to live in, and call it a rescue.

Nice spider. I hope you enjoy it!