noob tarantula keeper. i'm a total noob.

racer 6

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
did i mention i'm a total noob?

anyway, i purchased a 1-inch chaco golden knee.. love the color and shine on it..

enclosure is 2x4x5 inches, substrate's coco peat, has a water dish, and i live in a tropical country..

my problem is the shops around here are all superworms when it comes to feeds, and i prefer variation in diet..so i asked for some roaches from a friend. and there's my concern. are 2-inch long blaptica dubia roaches, um, edible for a tarantula this size?

and also, is my substrate ok? i've only ever had scorpions, so i'm predisposed to using coco peat..

thanks people..

fatich

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
himm if l were you l woud go for superworms,you can cut it half and give your T or kill superworm without cutting half than give your T. This size dubia may not be suitable for your T.

thank you
Fatih

Hobo

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Staff member
Cut up your big feeders, and stick em in the freezer. Thaw them out and feed as needed.

racer 6

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
i also have smaller dubia, like 1-inchers and less.. im concerned with the toughness of these things.. more than a week ago my tarantula ate a 1-inch dubia, but now it won't..

Mattyb

Arachnoking
Old Timer
if you offer your T a roach that is the same size or smaller than she is, then she should take it. If she doesn't then stick with the super worms until she gets bigger.

dubias

Arachnopeon
buy a few of those dubias (males+females), and start your own colony!
you will get 1/8in babies, up to 2in adults! that way you can feed your T!

racer 6

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
right, thanks..