Newbie with G. Pulchripes - Housing suggestions please

whovian89

Arachnopeon
Hi,

I am a newbie with a juvi grammostola pulchripes. It is about 2 3/4 inches. What kind of substrate should I use? And what sized enclosure is good for the T?

I currently have two enclosures that I have at home. One is round, 10.5" in diameter, 5.5" high. imagitarium.png
Another one is larger, rectangular enclosure, 18 x 11.6 x 5.9. exoterra.png

I like the bigger one but I wonder if it is too big for a juvi. Are these containers high enough? I would need to cover at least half its depth with substrates for a T like G. pulchripes, right?

As for the substrate, I saw the Eco Earth at PetCo. I have been told these Ts need dry substrates. Is this okay? eco earth.PNG

If these are not good for my G Pulchripes, please suggest what I could get at pet stores, amazon or elsewhere.

Any help and suggestion will be much appreciated and will mean a lot to this newbie.

Thanks.

Anoplogaster

Arachnodemon
Hi there,

Looks ok to me. I'd go with the smaller enclosure. Make sure you provide a hiding spot and a water dish. Your G. pulchripes is likely to push/flip the water dish, so have fun with that;)

Eco earth is the most common substrate used by tarantula keepers. And yes, they do like it dry. Make sure you provide plenty of substrate, as this species likes to push it around and dig. Also, deep substrate limits the vertical space, which is also good. Make sure to press the substrate down firmly to create a nice floor for the T. They don't like stumbling through fluff.

Take a picture when you have it all set up, and we'll be happy to give you more pointers:)

whovian89

Arachnopeon
Hi there,

Looks ok to me. I'd go with the smaller enclosure. Make sure you provide a hiding spot and a water dish. Your G. pulchripes is likely to push/flip the water dish, so have fun with that;)